Unnecessary accident due to overlapping

Budspencer

Even if for a minute we consider your ridiculous low IQ suggestion, hauoni hio hio barabara looks like a very busy highway and possibly Kuna gari nyingi nyuma yake. An emergency stop would have seen him rear ended leading to a pile up of unimaginable proportions and even hitting cars on the other lane.
Who said it must be emergency braking? Just a small tap of the brake pedal and his Subaru would be intact.

Magreb

I support you 100%. The Subaru only attempted to brake when he was on the road shoulder. The road ahead was clear of traffic going on the same direction as him. At such speeds, a good driver should be able to focus double the distance of the speed he's doing. Angeona lorry iko on his lane and start braking immediately. A case of a bad driver meeting an idiot.
Hii ndio maana we end up with kina joho, sonko, Sufi, waititi et al. What kind if reasoning is this? I shudder to imagine that you are among the educated expected to propel the country forward.

@The.Black.Templar shida ni ukuwe tailgated (hawa nao pia huwa maala) and any intention to slow down/stop in an instant might end up with you getting rear-ended
You are assuming he was being tailgated....and again we are not talking about an emergency brake just slowing down enough to let the lorry get back into his lane....ama you guys are saying that you never brake? Even when you are being tailgated, you can still have a controlled slow down

Magreb

Not an emergency stop, that lorry is very visible from far....look at the video again, a controlled slow down is what was needed and he only had to give the lorry probably another second or two na angekuwa sawa
You don't seem to get a very simple and basic explanation. What the lorry driver did is something we are used to on Kenyan highways. We get around it by slowing down and driving on the shoulders to avoid accidents. In the present case, the shoulder has been taken over by a speeding idiot. Either way, you are fucked. Even if he was to allow the lorry to return to its lane, bado msee wa premio angemlima tu.

. We get around it by slowing down and driving on the shoulders to avoid accidents.
Great, that is what should happen and we are on the same page..., however, in this particular video, you can clearly see the driver did not slow down like you have said, he swerved to the shoulder at high speed

Budspencer

Hii ndio maana we end up with kina joho, sonko, Sufi, waititi et al. What kind if reasoning is this? I shudder to imagine that you are among the educated expected to propel the country forward.
Nobody is disputing the fact that the premio guy is an idiot. There's something called defensive driving. Don't assume everyone on the road is a sane driver. Kawia ufike. Had it been me there would be no video available. I've been on this highway basically every weekend since 2005 na hata scratch sijawai pata. Heshimu mjingaa uepuke balaa. Wacha tuitwe wajinga tu.

ShakaZulu

A good driver is the one who not only follows the law but also is capable of tuning into mood of a situation and anticipate what could go wrong. The driver saw idiots driving carelessly heading towards him and the best he could have done is switch to defensive driving, slow down and have full lights and hazards on immediately to warn others. Remember there will always be new drivers on the road, who will be making poor decisions so its better to be safe than right. On the other, the idiot who was carelessly overtaking should have indicated his direction of escape to avoid head on collision.

Ndovukubwah

I support you 100%. The Subaru only attempted to brake when he was on the road shoulder. The road ahead was clear of traffic going on the same direction as him. At such speeds, a good driver should be able to focus double the distance of the speed he's doing. Angeona lorry iko on his lane and start braking immediately. A case of a bad driver meeting an idiot.
Subaru ni gani hapo kwanza?

Let me share an alternative. That guy with the dashcam pia is at fault. Kuna wale wakiona gari overtaking the either accelerate or maintain the same high speed so that the overtaking car does not get an opportunity to get back or finish the overtake. Had the guy just slowed down angefika salama salimini
Hii ndio huwa siamini
You see death and you wait for it !
Some people will die for their rights, remember the moment you cause an accident you forfeit all your rights !
Accidents don't happen they are caused

I think the arguments I am seeing are confirming just how many egotistical drivers we have on the road. The person driving the Premio was undoubtedly the one on the wrong.

The one with the dashboard camera threw all caution to the wind and maintained his speed. All it would have taken to protect himself from the other idots careless driving was to slow down just slightly and hug the shoulder of the road and the Premio driver wouldn't have panicked and swerved into him.

Silhouette

A good driver is the one who not only follows the law but also is capable of tuning into mood of a situation and anticipate what could go wrong. The driver saw idiots driving carelessly heading towards him and the best he could have done is switch to defensive driving, slow down and have full lights and hazards on immediately to warn others. Remember there will always be new drivers on the road, who will be making poor decisions so its better to be safe than right. On the other, the idiot who was carelessly overtaking should have indicated his direction of escape to avoid head on collision.
Most new drivers are normally very careful. It's the old drivers who think they are superhuman and expect to be able to overtake two trailers uphill on a blind corner. My former boss in Kampala used to boast how he would make the Kampala Nairobi journey in six hours, until he was beheaded by a bus. He tried overtaking on a blind corner but the guy he tried to overtake refused to let him back in.

may he RIP, did he have a German Machine?

Silhouette

No, it was a Subaru Legacy, fitted with those huge noisy exhaust pipes. Funny thing the man appeared calm as a mouse, almost nerdy, until he entered that thing, it seemed to alter his personality.