Tomatoe farming

Budspencer

Last three years I've discovered bei ya nyanya has never gone below tatu 20/- for the big ones and tatu 10/- for the small ones the whole year round (Ok, I admit at times naenda sokoni for groceries having turned into a semi-vegetarian). Tomatoes are very expensive and the market is stable.

So last November I folded my sleeves nikachukua jembe. Experimented on about 0.2acres. Bought seeds, prepared the seedbed and later transplanted. Makosa nilifanya I never put support twigs or line on them and all was well until the January rains. Out of nowhere blight disease appeared and the leafminer crept in. Though I hadn't invested much, iliniuma sana that tomatoes had record prices early this year and I would have made something. Yesterday @Kalel broke down the costs and being someone with 6 acres under tomatoes, his tips are invaluable. Wacha niingie na kichwa. Tomatoes, hoho and french beans

jayfrere

Last three years I've discovered bei ya nyanya has never gone below tatu 20/- for the big ones and tatu 10/- for the small ones the whole year round (Ok, I admit at times naenda sokoni for groceries having turned into a semi-vegetarian). Tomatoes are very expensive and the market is stable.

So last November I folded my sleeves nikachukua jembe. Experimented on about 0.2acres. Bought seeds, prepared the seedbed and later transplanted. Makosa nilifanya I never put support twigs or line on them and all was well until the January rains. Out of nowhere blight disease appeared and the leafminer crept in. Though I hadn't invested much, iliniuma sana that tomatoes had record prices early this year and I would have made something. Yesterday @Kalel broke down the costs and being someone with 6 acres under tomatoes, his tips are invaluable. Wacha niingie na kichwa. Tomatoes, hoho and french beans
Boss usiingie na kichwa nenda mdogo mdogo, master hio 0.2 acres mwanzo ikupe vile inatakikana halafu unaeza upscale Kama wewe ni expert, vitu kwa ground ni different.

John doe

Link ya hiyo thread? Nikona shamba nataka kulima pia

jayfrere

Then also bear in mind that the sales & marketing and logistics are the most important in farming, I may dare say even more important than the actual farming, this is because there is an abundance of peasant farmers who take price than salers and marketers who dictate price and sell to end consumers
Your biggest headache in farming therefore is your sales and marketing plan and logistics plan. It might help to have a pickup if you are able or start with a probox if you are constrained. You will come to realize the importance of logistics when you have produce but the brokers have somehow disappeared or they are quoting unreasonable price and you have to beg transporters who will also charge you an arm and a leg.
Also note on the price of tomatoes if the 3 big ones go for 20 Bob. You can estimate the price of a kilo as 80 to 100 Bob as 12 to 15 tomatoes make up a kilo for the medium sized tomatoes. To appreciate the value chain the mama mboga is selling to the final consumer at 80 to 100 per kilo, the Mama mboga bought from the broker at 20 Bob less per kilo which is 60 to 80 per kilo, the broker usually doubles the price at which he bought from the farmer therefore he will buy at 30 to 40 per kilo from a farmer as yourself. This means you will be selling the 3 medium tomatoes at 7.5 to 8 Bob rather than 20 Bob if you decide to sell to broker.
This therefore shows the opportunity in farming if you can crack the sales and marketing and logistics of your produce.
Most of the times it is better to start off as a broker to build your sales and marketing know-how before you venture into farming.
But not to discourage you, just to give you something to think about. I have seen farmers who have struck gold by just concentrating on farming and leaving the brokers to do their work. Though they are few and far in between.

Ubongo

Good thread, kuna besty yangu ameekelea acres tano, in the next two weeks zitakuwa zinaingizwa kwa soko, zimetoa matunda. Saa ile mvua haikuwa imenyesha ndio alikuwa anatumia pesa mob juu ya pump maji

mZENDE

Then also bear in mind that the sales & marketing and logistics are the most important in farming, I may dare say even more important than the actual farming, this is because there is an abundance of peasant farmers who take price than salers and marketers who dictate price and sell to end consumers
Your biggest headache in farming therefore is your sales and marketing plan and logistics plan. It might help to have a pickup if you are able or start with a probox if you are constrained. You will come to realize the importance of logistics when you have produce but the brokers have somehow disappeared or they are quoting unreasonable price and you have to beg transporters who will also charge you an arm and a leg.
Also note on the price of tomatoes if the 3 big ones go for 20 Bob. You can estimate the price of a kilo as 80 to 100 Bob as 12 to 15 tomatoes make up a kilo for the medium sized tomatoes. To appreciate the value chain the mama mboga is selling to the final consumer at 80 to 100 per kilo, the Mama mboga bought from the broker at 20 Bob less per kilo which is 60 to 80 per kilo, the broker usually doubles the price at which he bought from the farmer therefore he will buy at 30 to 40 per kilo from a farmer as yourself. This means you will be selling the 3 medium tomatoes at 7.5 to 8 Bob rather than 20 Bob if you decide to sell to broker.
This therefore shows the opportunity in farming if you can crack the sales and marketing and logistics of your produce.
Most of the times it is better to start off as a broker to build your sales and marketing know-how before you venture into farming.
But not to discourage you, just to give you something to think about. I have seen farmers who have struck gold by just concentrating on farming and leaving the brokers to do their work. Though they are few and far in between.
Invaluable and very practical observation this is.