This is Guka - Never Saw That Curve Ball Coming....

Like the busybody it is, the Senate has been holding hearings on that kid who died with a fork jembe in his head.

The KNH CEO today threw in a spanner in the works akin to Onyango's 'alienda kesho' answer.

Apparently, when the jembe kid died, the distraught matha started screaming in the hospital ward that her husband had killed her child. Kumbe the jembe had been aimed at her by her husband! It had missed and struck the kid she was holding!

According to the CeO, the matha's timelines also didn't match. The wound on the kid's head was already septic, having a lot of pus, by the time doctors were seeing them at Kenyatta. There had been an unexplained, long delay in taking the kid to hospital.

As to the alleged lapses in giving the poor kid emergency attention at KNH, the CEO had one surefire answer; "I'll make the CCTV images of that day available so you can make your own judgement".

When this case was emotionally highlighted by the media, both mainstream and socio, I was among the very few who pointed out that it 'stunk'. Things didn't add up.

Single-digit bonobos both here and nationally of course took it as their cue to condemn and malign KNH as they always do without thinking. Many sent the matha money.

I on my part questioned how a responsible matha would leave her children playing with sharp fork jembes and pangas. Doesn't happen.

Well, the truth is stranger than fiction. Muwe mnafikiria....na mjuange Guka is the GOAT.

See?

Look, two issues can exist while related or not and be discussed by the public especially such a case that was widely MISREPORTED by Githeri media.

When new information is availed, like what you've just shared, then perceptions held prior can change and that's just fine.

Let me bring back something that needs an even bigger discussion right from the Health CS's office all the way down to the local dispensary 👇🏾
Screenshot_20221013_193813.jpg

Look, two issues can exist while related or not and be discussed by the public especially such a case that was widely MISREPORTED by Githeri media.

When new information is availed, like what you've just shared, then perceptions held prior can change and that's just fine.

Let me bring back something that needs an even bigger discussion right from the Health CS's office all the way down to the local dispensary 👇🏾
View attachment 81261
Thanks lad.

This is a good write-up by a dude who obviously knows his stuff, prolly a doctor. I'll address him as such.

Like all other Kenyans, the good doctor skirts around the elephant in the room - funding of the health sector.

Let me blunt: no country at the level of economic devt that Kenya is can be able to give quality ' free' health care to it's people. If it tries, as some Kenyans including doctors think it should, this care would invariably be of very poor standard because of underfunding.

Remember the citizenry also want free food, education, sanitary pads, etc. In a country of 50m where less than 4m are registered taxpayers!

If we are to take this country to the next level we must bite the bullet and FORCE our people to do what they must do - become partners with govt for their own welfare. It's simply stupid to expect the few taxpayers who pay up to support the millions who just sit there expecting 'govt' to sort out their shit.

Let me give a few examples in the case of public health.

+ As a country, we must make it clear that adults should only bear the kids they can support. Healthy kids are less likely to get ill.

+ Vaccination of kids, and adults like in the case of Covid should be mandatory. No room for negotiation, and any parents who don't take their kids for vaccination should be punished.

+ Every home must have a pit latrine. No negotiations.

+ Anybody with an infectious disease such as TB or STD MUST seek treatment or be forced to. No negotiations.

+ Every adult must, MUST, take NHIF coverage or not bother to go to a public hospital.

I could go on and on. But I think my point is made - we must compel those of us who are laggards and layabouts to do right by themselves. Expecting worldclass health care for 50m from a budget that is equivalent to that of a small New York burrough is silly.

Of course, at the same time we should address structural and governance challenges bedeviling the health sector. Funds raised must be used well. The referral system must be made more efficient.

Healthcare is damn expensive. You see that fork jembe kid? I can bet my last nut that the cost of treating that injury would easily reach 500k even if the doctors did it for free -ICU, drugs, consumables, blood, etc.

Do Kenyans even contribute blood during drives? Check the statistics on Gugu. They don't, but expect to receive the same when admitted. All you'll hear are stupid excuses like "Siwezi donate halafu wauze damu Somalia".

Let me leave it there for now.

Giggz

Like the busybody it is, the Senate has been holding hearings on that kid who died with a fork jembe in his head.

The KNH CEO today threw in a spanner in the works akin to Onyango's 'alienda kesho' answer.

Apparently, when the jembe kid died, the distraught matha started screaming in the hospital ward that her husband had killed her child. Kumbe the jembe had been aimed at her by her husband! It had missed and struck the kid she was holding!

According to the CeO, the matha's timelines also didn't match. The wound on the kid's head was already septic, having a lot of pus, by the time doctors were seeing them at Kenyatta. There had been an unexplained, long delay in taking the kid to hospital.

As to the alleged lapses in giving the poor kid emergency attention at KNH, the CEO had one surefire answer; "I'll make the CCTV images of that day available so you can make your own judgement".

When this case was emotionally highlighted by the media, both mainstream and socio, I was among the very few who pointed out that it 'stunk'. Things didn't add up.

Single-digit bonobos both here and nationally of course took it as their cue to condemn and malign KNH as they always do without thinking. Many sent the matha money.

I on my part questioned how a responsible matha would leave her children playing with sharp fork jembes and pangas. Doesn't happen.

Well, the truth is stranger than fiction. Muwe mnafikiria....na mjuange Guka is the GOAT.

See?
This is very grave information, we judged with false info as relayed , this has great implications on the lives of that family. Its also very hard to verify/ believe it too since people have been known to lie.
Funding of HC in our country is very controversial as is the utilization of allocated funds (governance)

R_Silver

Great points Guka..
Perhaps senators can tell me if there is any way we can change the current set-up and revert healthcare to national government, at least for some aspects. I have heard from people in the sector that a big issue is that the governors abuse the allocations for health and direct operational funds to construction of health centres, which are a great campaign tool but more importantly provide an easy way to loot funds. Which is why counties seem to never stop having nurses or doctors on strike, as their salaries were diverted elsewhere. Pia a while back I heard the counties were not taking up interns from the universities, despite their salaries being paid directly by national government! With nonsense like this, how can we achieve nd maintain the required manpower levels for proper service?

Great points Guka..
Perhaps senators can tell me if there is any way we can change the current set-up and revert healthcare to national government, at least for some aspects. I have heard from people in the sector that a big issue is that the governors abuse the allocations for health and direct operational funds to construction of health centres, which are a great campaign tool but more importantly provide an easy way to loot funds. Which is why counties seem to never stop having nurses or doctors on strike, as their salaries were diverted elsewhere. Pia a while back I heard the counties were not taking up interns from the universities, despite their salaries being paid directly by national government! With nonsense like this, how can we achieve nd maintain the required manpower levels for proper service?
I have worked in that sector and there are serious governonce and structural issues.

Let me give you an example.

When Kabogo was gavana of Kiambu, he invested a lot in healthcare, including upgrading Kiambu District Hospital to Level 5 as well as Thika Hospital. He hired nurses and doctors and ensured that the hospitals had drugs.

Guess what?

The entire poor of Nairobi, Upper Machakos, and Murang'a flocked to Kiambu for treatment! Services collapsed, with patients having to share beds.

Our unthinking Githerimedia started blaming the same Kabogo who had improved services for the mess. The county director of medical services, my very good friend Dr Toro, was sacrificed.

Waititu later came in and everything reverted to the state of nature....

It is the above experience that prompted President Uhuru to go on a hospital-building spree in the capital city. We told him as long as Kiambu was next to Nairobi, his own people will keep being crowded out of their own health care facilities. He got it, to his credit.
Na wewe mzae sindano ya covid sindungwi,brare fukin

Great points Guka..
Healthy care ought not to be devolved same with agriculture!
If anything counties should have been given a timeframe 5year to put up referral hospitals, 5years for equipping these hospitals and then 5more for human resources issues

Since time immemorial, the non-performance of public health services has been blamed on lack of resources. However, a closer look would reveal that this is just a convenient scapegoat used to explain away many other systemic shortcomings, such as inefficiency, theft, poor planning, wrong priorities, mismanagement, corruption, and a pathetic workforce. Many church-sponsored healthcare facilities have similar budgets and staffing to comparable government healthcare facilities but see more patients and offer much better services than their government counterparts. However much we would want to hide behind 'lack of resources', the reality is that the quality of service offered by government facilities is nowhere near commensurate with the resources the public invests. If you saw the budgets of some church-run dispensaries compared to what they achieve, you would demand the government stops running healthcare immediately; and the entire health budget be handed over to the church.

OK, let's talk figures. Post them here.