Thieving Nephew

To be on the safe side.... you need to report that he had stolen 60k. He will do worse.... and the police will ask his history. Don't fatten the snake 🐍🐍
Slight problem there, If the complainant is not ready to write a statement, the police will ignore it as hearsay, no action will be taken.

That's why I suggested the chief/nyumba kumi.
Best approach in the right away, but in my experience with addicts(gambling is an addiction). Extreme measures are needed, and nyumba Kumi/Chief is a short term solution, something permanent like fearing for his life will make him respect Mzee's property.

Karma_mama

We have a duty of care to our wazees.. Even our very own Gouka @Field Marshal

Elder abuse (also called "elder mistreatment", "senior abuse", "abuse in later life", "abuse of older adults", "abuse of older women", and "abuse of older men") is "a single, or repeated act, or lack of appropriate action, occurring within any relationship where there is an expectation of trust, which causes harm or distress to an older person.

Giggz

Izza bro', he has made his bed let him lie on it. Wacha wakacheze bets na Onyi' he is thankless .
Years ago, my late bro was deported from the US and for a couple of years drunk himself silly before accepting his fate and turned his life around. He then married Mutheu's sister when the score was 0-1. But a few years later his life was brutally cut short by robbers who had attacked them at their home leaving behind the widow, the adopted son and two other children.
We as the extended family did a major fundraising where we set-up an education fund for the family and also proceeded to build a mansion for them. The boy went to campus where he did economics and CPA (as he used to tell us) and cleared last year, though he didn't graduate cos he never sat for some papers, as we came to learn thro a friend of his.
His campus journey was tainted with minor scams where he used to solicit for money from us, his maternal relatives, church members and even distant relatives.
Apparently he has a gambling addition whereby his pocket money + helb loans couldn't last even a week.
After clearing, we decided to use him to be assisting my then bedridden dad and we arranged than he would get a weekly token for motivation and his other needs. This never stopped his scams of soliciting for money from people.
The scumbag (not related to any scumbag you know) has now graduated to stealing from my dad as he got to know his mpesa pin and bank details.
He first fulizad 3500/- then the straw that broke the camel's back is last weekend but 1, he ejected mzee's saf simcard, pretended that it might have dropped as he was swapping phones for mzae, then he lied that he was going out for kesha and by monday when we replaced the simcard, we realised that he had withdrawn 60k, fuluzad 3500/- and even tried to download apps to take loans from.
Kuulizwa by my parents he casually explained that he had gambled away all the money. Now me n my siblings hakuna mtu amwongelesha, he hasn't even tried to apologize and to add insult to injury, he isn't helping at all at home. The other day a physiotherapist knocked at the gate for more than 10 minutes and the idiot was arrogantly doing laundry, ilibidi my old folks watoke wakafungue gate.
Last weekend I travelled there and giving him some C.I.A grade torture, only used at Guantanamo bay but he was saved by mashetani ya kwao Kitui akakua ametoka.
Huyu naapa lazima aende Inda and or Kamiti, wadau nisaidie na mawazo.

Giggz

Whatever it is,neega hangekuwa kwa hiyo boma...and as you chase him away,threaten him to report the 60K to the cops should his shadow be seen anywhere near the homestead.
And to be on the safe side,like you been told,make sure chifu na msee kiherehere wa nyumba 10 anajua hii maneno.
Some of this guys don't care, they believe they have nothing to lose.no reputation to protect.

We have a duty of care to our wazees.. Even our very own Gouka @Field Marshal

Elder abuse (also called "elder mistreatment", "senior abuse", "abuse in later life", "abuse of older adults", "abuse of older women", and "abuse of older men") is "a single, or repeated act, or lack of appropriate action, occurring within any relationship where there is an expectation of trust, which causes harm or distress to an older person.
I can take all the care you can give....be generous...

Giggz

Best approach in the right away, but in my experience with addicts(gambling is an addiction). Extreme measures are needed, and nyumba Kumi/Chief is a short term solution, something permanent like fearing for his life will make him respect Mzee's property.
This brats know/believe you need them more than they need you, but he is into other drugs or women. Sio gambling pekee.

fundikira

Had a similar experience with a relative. In this instance, the mzee (80) gave the grandson his bank card to withdraw money and be depositing in the Mzee's mpesa. Kijana got smart and within 3 months had withdrawn 50 k from the account for personal use.

Family was split , with his aunties maintaining that he would change. As karma would have it, his next target was 40 k from an aunty's mpesa account using techniques similar to those described by this poster