They will tell you doing business is expensive

Jug

Haha hii ujinga ndio pia ilinifanya accessories zote za laptop na nunua online kitu majuu haijafika 50bob ukingia kwa duka hapa vumbistan unaitishwa 3000kes iyo profit margin ni wazimu na ju ya iyo story sijui nianze kufanya import nikiuza na izi bei ovyo

Young_Turk

How outrageously expensive imported items can be in Kenya.

From Jiji

View attachment 85757

From AliExpress

View attachment 85759
This huge price difference is as a result of China having an unfair competitive advantage.

The Kenyan trader needs to unionize/organize into purchasing groups, travel to china and mass inport products in order to sell items at a subsidized price.

Think about Eastleigh. Almost every shop sells the same product.

The Chinese on the other hand own the ENTIRE chain of production.

The materials (cheaply sourced from highly indebted developing world nations)

The factories and an abundance of cheap labor.

Low interest Bank loans from their state own financial institutions.

Internet technology, AI and ML to be able to study the buying habits and sell those exact products.

The transport infrastructure from Shanghai to Mombasa, through the SGR & Airport.

Cheap shipping that's subsidized by the USPS (United States Postal Service), a deal they were able to secure given they registered as developing country.

The local politicians and chieftains.

And now, a physical brick and mortar mall to sell directly to the customers. These malls are neat, clean, Air conditioned.

Unlike those shacks we call a market.

This huge price difference is as a result of China having an unfair competitive advantage.
I won't call it unfair but Chinese have their shit together.
They've positive advantage they're exploiting it fully.

we have a clean market that was built ages ago but up to date it has never been opened because of vested personal interests hata sonko alishindwa kufungua.

We have clean geo power but still power is very high to manufactures. The licensing process for manufacture is unnecessary long either designed that way or we're to foolish to realise it's hindering local entrepreneurs.

The Chinese are just exploiting our folly. KU mall had been vacant for years, no one thought of putting a mega shop there. We have hawkers in cbd but our governor is busy planning choir competition to realise Nairobi cbd is losing it's appeal.
Next the Chinese will put a mega mtumba shop in an accessible and secure place , then you'll hear the usual cries.

I remember a Lister supporting mark-up prices, can't remember his name but kuna mtu ashawahi muita fundi in the other village, I am assuming that he is in the construction sector.
Nowadays sellers are realising watu si wajinga Bana.

Young_Turk

What are saying exactly? The seller at Jiji bought from the one at AliExpress.
Yup. And Ali Express doesn't have a giant stockpile of everything in Nairobi.

Once you make the order, the logistics to get it into your hands.

From Wuhan to Shamakhokho.

Thats the competitive advantage.

That's what I was referring to.