The Finance Act 2022

Makhalanganga

Kenyan policy makers are an interesting lot. Perhaps due to the fact that recruitment and promotion is done via nepotism and tribalism thus locking out brilliant chaps. The theory behind excise duty is to promote the growth of local capacity, discourage the production of unnecessary or harmful stuff and stifle imports of that which can be produced locally. Sasa hizo vitu zote zinawekewa excise duty, what exactly is the govt going for? Ujinga ni kuwekea kitu unaimport excise duty.

Mbirrionaire, what is going to happen to your 8% APY if you are losing 15% to capital gains and inflation? 😅😅
With the likes of IMF saying the KES is over-valued and CBK floating instead of managing the currency...sahii ni kuget assets because not even Money Market Funds can have enough returns to counter the depreciation as well as inflation.
Alafu una watch news hoping any of the big kahunas have a solid plan and sadly realize, the rough ride will be a long, long one

With the likes of IMF saying the KES is over-valued and CBK floating instead of managing the currency...sahii ni kuget assets because not even Money Market Funds can have enough returns to counter the depreciation as well as inflation.
Alafu una watch news hoping any of the big kahunas have a solid plan and sadly realize, the rough ride will be a long, long one
It depends on which assets you get. You need an asset that can easily be liquidated. Otherwise, if things get tough and you cannot pull together some cash inaweza kuwa mbaya. In terms of a plan, I rather put my faith in a model that is seeking to expand the base rather than short term support programs like 6k a month.