STATEMENT by Bomet Governor

STATEMENT.

BY Governor Dr Hillary Barchok..

Good evening ladies and gentlemen, I am making this statement to update you all on the current status of Covid-19 cases in Bomet county.

This morning, an individual travelled from Nairobi to Bomet, onboard a South Rift Sacco Matatu that left Nairobi at 5:20 AM and arrived here in Bomet at 10:00AM . The matatu had 8 passengers, 3 of whom alighted at Longisa, 2 at Bomet stage, 1 between Bomet and Chebole and the last one, at Litein.

Upon arrival, the said individual contacted our County Emergency Response Team to inform them that he had tested Covid-19 positive in Nairobi and the team moved in quickly to take him to our isolation unit at Longisa Referral Hospital.

As the situation demands, our Public health Officers immediately started tracing those who travelled with the individual and their other possible contacts. In this regard, I appeal to all the passengers who were onboard the matatu to get in touch with our public health officials for further assistance. They can reach our health personnel through hotline number 0726012387.

I also wish to report that we have had a positive case at Kimari Estate and one of our medical staff who handled him has been confirmed positive after contact tracing and testing of samples.

It is important to note that these two cases are both imported and wish to urge the public to exercise extra caution now that people are moving in and out of Nairobi which is the hotspot of Covid-19 cases.

I also appeal to Matatu sector to adhere to MOH guidelines and keep records of their passengers to assist us in contact tracing in such circumstances. We shall distribute travel log documents to aid in this process.

The influx of passengers from Nairobi and other affected counties may give us a monumental challenge in the coming weeks but it is our hope that with strict adherence to preventive measures, we can curb the spread of the virus. I appeal to everyone to take care of themselves and those around them.

#StaySafe
#StayHome
#KomeshaKorona

Sharoo

kwani what should have happened? Si mlisema Nairobi ifunguliwe juu hakuna kitu restriction of movement inasaidia?
Nairobi was openned due to an economy which was falling drasticaly,,being openned didn't mean that people can now stream outside even if you are sure that you are covid-19 positive.