Someone Has A Valid Reason Kukula Mali Ya Umma

Hii statement hakuna kitu inasema.
Swali langu ni mtu a-import fish through Mombasa ipitie Migori ipelekwe 120-km round trip to Karungu ndio irudishwe Migori market? For what?
people are also importing chicken legs from china.....Mimi I blame the suppliers cartel, they have become very powerful that they dictate what people consume, and the quality too.

DeepInYourMind

Hii statement hakuna kitu inasema.
Swali langu ni mtu a-import fish through Mombasa ipitie Migori ipelekwe 120-km round trip to Karungu ndio irudishwe Migori market? For what?
About migori specifically I do not know. But kisumu, yes. Somehow chinese fish becomes cheaper than lake victoria fish

Somehow chinese fish becomes cheaper than lake victoria fish
Imported fish mainly finds its way to supermarkets and other places where it is supplied and sold still frozen. The article talks of fish being taken to landing beaches in migori - I guess Muhuru and Karungu - only to be returned to the market in Suna.

DeepInYourMind

Imported fish mainly finds its way to supermarkets and other places where it is supplied and sold still frozen. The article talks of fish being taken to landing beaches in migori - I guess Muhuru and Karungu - only to be returned to the market in Suna.
Maybe we're not looking at the same article. The one I'm looking at says fish mongers, i.e. mama samaki sokoni. Not fish exchange at the beach.

For fish farming to succeed, we need to have more domestic consumption of fish everywhere in the country. How would increase fish consumption if our folks don't known how to cook it?
@bigDog,
They are going it the wrong way in my opinion. They are tackling it as if it is a culinary challenge while as it is a Cultural Impendiment.

The fish is traditionally the Kikuyu totem and as such was never consumed. Our tribal name hails from the fish actually - gikuyu or makuyu.
They should approach this in an anthropological and nutritional perspective just like Kenya is tackling uncircumcision and wife inheritance among the Luos.

And it is not something that can be rectified in a short time. It will take at least a generation considering that most adult okuyus don’t know how leave alone eating fish
Thanks to Okuyu girls who have intermarried with Luos bringing about a class of okuyus who have no problems whatsoever with samak’.

@bigDog,
They are going it the wrong way in my opinion. They are tackling it as if it is a culinary challenge while as it is a Cultural Impendiment.

The fish is traditionally the Kikuyu totem and as such was never consumed. Our tribal name hails from the fish actually - gikuyu or makuyu.
They should approach this in an anthropological and nutritional perspective just like Kenya is tackling uncircumcision and wife inheritance among the Luos.

And it is not something that can be rectified in a short time. It will take at least a generation considering that most adult okuyus don’t know how leave alone eating fish
Thanks to Okuyu girls who have intermarried with Luos bringing about a class of okuyus who have no problems whatsoever with samak’.
I don't think it's a cultural issue in central Kenya any more. We have a lot of exposure to different cultures especially among the young. Fish is healthier than beef and mutton according to diet experts. Persuading people for health reasons shouldn't be hard.

Lakini, preparing fish is a problem considering it's delicate nature. Try cooking it using the traditional cooking methods around the mountain and you get a watery fish soup. Totally unpalatable! Furthermore, the mostly used deep frying method (and stewing it later) is unhealthy because it uses too much oil.

What about providing healthier recipes that make fish tastier without making it unhealthy? Some traditional cooking methods are superior and should be taught to everyone. I have some Congolese friends who introduced me to 'Liboke', a very tasty dish of fish. Indeed, the Liboke method can be used to prepare any meat dish without frying.