SKINNING OF TIM THE ELEPHANT AT THE NAIROBI MUSEUM

If you have been to Kenya's Amboseli National Park, you might have met Tim. He was the oldest Elephant with the most magnificent tusks in the whole of eastern Africa. Unfortunately he died on 5th Feb at the age of 50 years. His carcass was brought to the capital, Nairobi for storage and below is a video of the first steps of carcass preparation for storage in the National Museum.

Something about this feels wrong. The animal may be dead but skinning it in such a poor unsanitary environment is just messed up.

Welcome to Kenya.
Are you Canadian btw tuongee french.
This is how things are done here.
We call it kienyeji.
All we want are the bones.
Tusks zitaenda china Ile skeleton itakua display will have plastic ones.
Asante.
Do you have another question

Welcome to Kenya.
Are you Canadian btw tuongee french.
This is how things are done here.
We call it kienyeji.
All we want are the bones.
Tusks zitaenda china Ile skeleton itakua display will have plastic ones.
Asante.
Do you have another question
Hehe... Meria, have I touched a nerve? Sanitation is not for the animal but for human beings. Look at the number of flies there. If the elephant is carrying harmful bacteria and those flies land on someones food etc what do you expect to happen? Lakini we do things kienyeji, ama vipi mkubwa?

MMNN is on site
Will address the nation at 8am kesho

Achana na @Meria amezoea kuruka sewage pale mombasa hii ni kionjo tu kwake