Sheila..

Chriss Huyu

Back in the high school days, my parents concluded that I had become a nuisance and decided to take me to a school in shags. All male boarding school na nilikuwa nimetoka mixed day school Nairobi, so it was the downgrade of a lifetime. Nilikuwa nimezoea kusumbuana na madem, but hapa ni ndume tupu. Ningefanyaje na hizi drastic changes?

I decided to join drama club, music club, chochote that would atleast enable me to meet girls during those inter-school events. So, there was this sister school which had some of the loveliest girls on the planet. And it was branded our partner school because it was in the same region as our school, the way schools used to brand each other that "hawa madem wa hii shule ni wa ile boy school fulani". So me and my close buddies approached our drama teacher and we were given a script to practice for the upcoming drama festivals. I remember we used to practice til late waiting for the day of the festivals.

Come the day of the festivals and we are in the dorm preparing to board the bus to our sister school. Some chap had a hidden bottle of perfume (it was illegal to have perfume), which we all used to spray ourselves, in preparation to meet em girls. Our accompanying teacher was always high at such events, so probably he couldn't differentiate our perfume from his vodka breath, or so we thought, but it didn't matter because in our little minds we did not know that 10+ people should not go smelling the same perfume to a public event (cringe).

Come to think of it, I think he just ignored our perfume as we boarded the bus, coz you know, there is that alcoholic bliss where you just don't give a shit. Anyways, we boarded the bus, driver takes us to the sister school, we alight. Wah! Kushuka wacha mecho yasafishwe! I'm telling you two months bila kuona madem does a lot of wonders to your mind when you suddenly see them in plenty. And its like several different girl schools. After kuhang kama 5 minutes (I swear some guys were staring with their mouths open wide, including me I think, lol), tukajoin the crowd. Now, my closest friend Kevo was a fast one, and soon enough the two of us were already in the company of girls. And this is how I came to meet Sheila...

Now, Sheila was one of those ladies who stood out from the crowd. The kind of girl who, when you see her, everything else blurs and mutes in the background. Her graceful movements, her smile, everything, was like a movie moment. My AUM (Automated Ufisi Mode) kicked in, and in a way that I cannot explain, I found myself talking to her. It's like sleepwalking then waking up and you find yourself talking to a girl with the perfect dental formula smiling back at you, and you are having a conversation with her. I don't even remember what I was talking about, but I had a group of girls listening to me, with Sheila as the main receptive audience.

We immediately clicked. She had a particular kind of elegance which made me forget that we were there to perform a play. Time flew, Kevo had to physically yank me from her, yelling that our play is next. I managed to get her full names, coz back in the day we communicated inter school using letters only. I remember memorizing her name "Sheila Xxx Yyy", up to 5 minutes before getting on stage, instead of refreshing on my play material to be used during the play.

To be continued..

Back in the high school days, my parents concluded that I had become a nuisance and decided to take me to a school in shags. All male boarding school na nilikuwa nimetoka mixed day school Nairobi, so it was the downgrade of a lifetime. Nilikuwa nimezoea kusumbuana na madem, but hapa ni ndume tupu. Ningefanyaje na hizi drastic changes?

I decided to join drama club, music club, chochote that would atleast enable me to meet girls during those inter-school events. So, there was this sister school which had some of the loveliest girls on the planet. And it was branded our partner school because it was in the same region as our school, the way schools used to brand each other that "hawa madem wa hii shule ni wa ile boy school fulani". So me and my close buddies approached our drama teacher and we were given a script to practice for the upcoming drama festivals. I remember we used to practice til late waiting for the day of the festivals.

Come the day of the festivals and we are in the dorm preparing to board the bus to our sister school. Some chap had a hidden bottle of perfume (it was illegal to have perfume), which we all used to spray ourselves, in preparation to meet em girls. Our accompanying teacher was always high at such events, so probably he couldn't differentiate our perfume from his vodka breath, or so we thought, but it didn't matter because in our little minds we did not know that 10+ people should not go smelling the same perfume to a public event (cringe).

Come to think of it, I think he just ignored our perfume as we boarded the bus, coz you know, there is that alcoholic bliss where you just don't give a shit. Anyways, we boarded the bus, driver takes us to the sister school, we alight. Wah! Kushuka wacha mecho yasafishwe! I'm telling you two months bila kuona madem does a lot of wonders to your mind when you suddenly see them in plenty. And its like several different girl schools. After kuhang kama 5 minutes (I swear some guys were staring with their mouths open wide, including me I think, lol), tukajoin the crowd. Now, my closest friend Kevo was a fast one, and soon enough the two of us were already in the company of girls. And this is how I came to meet Sheila...

Now, Sheila was one of those ladies who stood out from the crowd. The kind of girl who, when you see her, everything else blurs and mutes in the background. Her graceful movements, her smile, everything, was like a movie moment. My AUM (Automated Ufisi Mode) kicked in, and in a way that I cannot explain, I found myself talking to her. It's like sleepwalking then waking up and you find yourself talking to a girl with the perfect dental formula smiling back at you, and you are having a conversation with her. I don't even remember what I was talking about, but I had a group of girls listening to me, with Sheila as the main receptive audience.

We immediately clicked. She had a particular kind of elegance which made me forget that we were there to perform a play. Time flew, Kevo had to physically yank me from her, yelling that our play is next. I managed to get her full names, coz back in the day we communicated inter school using letters only. I remember memorizing her name "Sheila Xxx Yyy", up to 5 minutes before getting on stage, instead of refreshing on my play material to be used during the play.

To be continued..
does high school infatuation qualify as a hekaya ?