Sh50000 FINE OR JAIL IF YOU DEFAULT ON NEW ROAD TOLL FEES

MPs have paved the way for the introduction of pay-for-use roads in Kenya as motorists now face charges of up to Sh50,000 or six-month jail term for driving through toll stations without paying the required fees.

According to the Finance Bill 2020, which takes effect from July 1, motorists who refuse to stop a vehicle at a toll station or fraudulently or forcibly drives a car through without paying the toll will be slapped with Sh50,000 fine or imprisonment to a term not exceeding six months. Additionally, a similar punishment will be given to those who drive through a toll station not designated for the passage of the vehicle.

The MPs in the commiittee chaired by Joseph Limo deleted the Treasury proposal in the Finance Bill 2020 that would have moved transit tolls from the Roads Maintenance Levy Fund to the Public Roads Tolls Fund. From July 1, the government is seeking to put in place legal mechanisms to guide the toll fees on major national roads and establishment of a toll fund. The government is seeking to put in place legal mechanisms to guide the toll fees on major national roads and establishment of a toll fund from July 1.
Factors that determine the toll fees one is to pay includes the distance and capacity of the car. This means that motorists will pay toll charges on top of the fuel levy even though tax revenues funded the roads.The list of highways, where motorists may soon start paying includes Nairobi-Nakuru, Nairobi-Mombasa, Nairobi-Thika and Southern Bypass in Nairobi.

Let them take advantage of technology and not have toll stations.
Let it be prepaid, and top up, you get that chip on your windscreen and everytime you pass, your balance is deducted. Simple technology, no fusses.
We refuse toll stations.
Kisha we cannot pay toll on already existing congested roads.
This decision should be accompanied with a defined public city transport. Hapana kupigana na matatu.
Anyways guess we're buying bicycles.

Let it be prepaid, and top up, you get that chip on your windscreen and everytime you pass, your balance is deducted. Simple technology, no fusses.
We refuse toll stations.
This decision should be accompanied with a defined public city transport. Hapana kupigana na matatu.
wanafaa wajenge bara bara mpya on PPP and then charge toll on those.

We refuse toll stations.
Karibu to the Sacco, registration fee tuma kwa @The.Black.Templar . Forward the payment confirmation to me .

MPs have paved the way for the introduction of pay-for-use roads in Kenya as motorists now face charges of up to Sh50,000 or six-month jail term for driving through toll stations without paying the required fees.

According to the Finance Bill 2020, which takes effect from July 1, motorists who refuse to stop a vehicle at a toll station or fraudulently or forcibly drives a car through without paying the toll will be slapped with Sh50,000 fine or imprisonment to a term not exceeding six months. Additionally, a similar punishment will be given to those who drive through a toll station not designated for the passage of the vehicle.

The MPs in the commiittee chaired by Joseph Limo deleted the Treasury proposal in the Finance Bill 2020 that would have moved transit tolls from the Roads Maintenance Levy Fund to the Public Roads Tolls Fund. From July 1, the government is seeking to put in place legal mechanisms to guide the toll fees on major national roads and establishment of a toll fund. The government is seeking to put in place legal mechanisms to guide the toll fees on major national roads and establishment of a toll fund from July 1.
Factors that determine the toll fees one is to pay includes the distance and capacity of the car. This means that motorists will pay toll charges on top of the fuel levy even though tax revenues funded the roads.The list of highways, where motorists may soon start paying includes Nairobi-Nakuru, Nairobi-Mombasa, Nairobi-Thika and Southern Bypass in Nairobi.
Hii serikali si ya wananchi, I'm sure we are heading in wrong direction

Talespin

We refuse toll stations.
Great Idea lakini hawataikubali hata kidogo. Lazima tumbo zijazwe.