scam

One day almost a decade ago I received a call from a number I didn't have at the time. Turned out to be one of my former high school buddies. He was in a dilemma: he'd recently been offered a position at a firm where he once was an attachee but was required to buy 'soda ya wazee' to secure the position. He was calling me to ask me what he should do. For context, he had an ailing dad in need of urgent and continuing medical care, siblings still in school and a mother who now had no income, having closed down her shop to cater to her ailing hubby. Ehe, harafu? :unsure:
hapo ni catch 22, tenda wema nenda zako

Luther12

These things do happen, it's only few are reported, and are reported when the deals do not go through

Way back, in the late 90s, is the first time I heard of it.
Back then prospective recruits would have written the amount on the soles of their feet.
An interested relative who didn't know and therefore had nothing written was asked just one question, "Wewe kijana umeletwa hapa na nani?"

Fala12

It's all very good to be idealistic and optimistic. Wewe umewahi ona pale Karaba where should you make a mistake of slowing down with a rolled down window farmers/ sellers shove all manner of farm produce in your face. How sustainable is that as an income source? How many times have we seen farmers all over crying of farm produce going to waste due to impassable roads, thieving cartels (NCPB and brokers), lack of market access, etc? We all agree agriculture is crucial but the truth is in Kenya today one has too many odds stacked against them especially as a beginner. It just ain't 'sexy' enough to be an attractive option. Today, parents have no qualms taking loans to give 300k for their kids to get an office job. Na hao wazazi wana mashamba.
I think lakini ni some experience in the agricultural field, those people that shove farm produce om your face most likely make more than the kawaida office clerk, secretary, receptionist, private school teacher, nurse etc. I think it's just a perception we have in kenya having a white collar job as a measure of making it

Kamau wa Kíríro

We cannot all be entrepreneurs buana. In any case, if we all were tutatoa wafanyikazi wapi? Na tutauzia nani?
It is ok to wanna be employed, just as it is to wanna be an entrepreneur.
Beef yangu ni kuwa na the wherewithal ya kuanzisha bizna alafu unatapeliwa hio dough badala ya kuanzisha bizna heri uchomeke....