Road Toll

YoungD

Currently, we pay for Road Maintenance Levy when you fuel your jalopy. Sasa wakiongeza Toll the money collected should be used to maintain the road. Sasa unalipa RML na Toll which serve the same purpose
U've got it twisted. Toll is to pay up the contractor. When the cost + profit are met from toll collection(like after 30 years) the toll will cease.

ps. @templer ame-like comment yako juu hananga akili :ROFLMAO:

JazzMan

U've got it twisted. Toll is to pay up the contractor. When the cost + profit are met from toll collection(like after 30 years) the toll will cease.

ps. @templer ame-like comment yako juu hananga akili :ROFLMAO:
Wewe ndio hujashika. With government promising to pay the investors from taxes (yet has to rely on donors to cover budgetary shortfalls), they will have to increase taxes collected to pay those investors. That tax can be in addition to the road levy already collected at the fuel pump, or a new tax specifically meant to cover the expected annual toll collection.

It's a pledge to those private investors they'll still get paid even if Kenyans will avoid using toll roads, which I definitely will.

YoungD

Wewe ndio hujashika. With government promising to pay the investors from taxes (yet has to rely on donors to cover budgetary shortfalls), they will have to increase taxes collected to pay those investors. That tax can be in addition to the road levy already collected at the fuel pump, or a new tax specifically meant to cover the expected annual toll collection.

It's a pledge to those private investors they'll still get paid even if Kenyans will avoid using toll roads, which I definitely will.
I'm disputing @Jug 's explanation. but even your explanation is hypothetical.

and btw, if the government decides to pay the investor, it means the road won't be a toll road anymore.

I'm disputing @Jug 's explanation. but even your explanation is hypothetical.

and btw, if the government decides to pay the investor, it means the road won't be a toll road anymore.
itakuwa top up to whatever the contractor collects in tolls

Currently, we pay for Road Maintenance Levy when you fuel your jalopy. Sasa wakiongeza Toll the money collected should be used to maintain the road. Sasa unalipa RML na Toll which serve the same purpose
Toll would be to pay the road constructors back their investment. Road will be maintained thru the RML. But like the OP says,you won't pay the toll. The money will come from taxes paid by everyone and the most obvious route is additional taxing of fuel.,maybe under the RML.
Which means every Kenyan will pay coz of the knock on effect of increasing taxes on fuel...

I always ask a question
Those tractors, machines in farmland, diesel generators in national parks etc. Why do they pay road maintenance levy ?