• No

Votes: 7 29.2%
  • i dont care

Votes: 2 8.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Mr Black

1. Corporal punishment is still in force in our schools.

Schools are getting burnt down by kids who get beaten on the regular.

2. Surely, it cannot have escaped our attention that public secondary boarding schools are the biggest casualties of school fires, why aren't day schools teaching the same curriculum not getting burnt down? Or colleges and universities which are quite taxing? Are we saying only public secondary boarding schools have indisciplined brats?

At what point do we deal with the elephant standing smack right in the centre of the room?

Conditions in our public secondary boarding schools are the trigger, we need to fix that. In the short term a radical change in living conditions is necessary, in the long term we need move to majority day secondary schools, we need to keep parents in their childrens lives especially during those teenage years when they need close supervision.

Budspencer

Surely, it cannot have escaped our attention that public BOYS secondary boarding schools are the biggest casualties of school fires,?

At what point do we deal with the elephant standing smack right in the centre of the room?
Fixed.

Pay teachers well na hizi vitu zote hutawahizisikia tena ama Kuna canning Braebun, brookhouse na kina peponi?
Perspective ni muhimu. These top-tier schools have the best-behaved kids, with parents who are more involved in education than their kids. Parents have time to be with their kids or can delegate the task to close family members. When a teacher wants to see the parent, they report as a clan.

Then we have the next tier for the upper middle-class. The too have well-behaved kids, and parents with a good appreciation for education. Students from the upper-middle class and higher will rarely be aware of their privileges. Often, they will not have encountered poverty at close range and therefore will assume everyone lives like them because their entire clan is also rich. When the teacher calls the class register, they will sometimes be amused upon realizing many names sound familiar, because they belong to old money in the country. Teachers rarely need to punish such kids but when the need arises, the parents will cooperate fully.

Problems start at the middle-class, where parents have to work hard to give their progeny some privileges. Students from these families are the most problematic. These kids know what poverty looks like from observing friends and the extended family. They are often poorly-behaved and arrogant, partly because their parents do not have enough time to be with them. Most parents in recent diaspora will send their kids to such schools. For this type, the cane comes in handy because they rarely appreciate their parents' sacrifices.

Lastly, we have the lower-class. These either appreciate reality and work hard to achieve their dreams or succumb to despair and take to substance use. The former can be rectified with canning but the latter are a lost cause.

JazzMan

Perspective ni muhimu. These top-tier schools have the best-behaved kids, with parents who are more involved in education than their kids. Parents have time to be with their kids or can delegate the task to close family members. When a teacher wants to see the parent, they report as a clan.

Then we have the next tier for the upper middle-class. The too have well-behaved kids, and parents with a good appreciation for education. Students from the upper-middle class and higher will rarely be aware of their privileges. Often, they will not have encountered poverty at close range and therefore will assume everyone lives like them because their entire clan is also rich. When the teacher calls the class register, they will sometimes be amused upon realizing many names sound familiar, because they belong to old money in the country. Teachers rarely need to punish such kids but when the need arises, the parents will cooperate fully.

Problems start at the middle-class, where parents have to work hard to give their progeny some privileges. Students from these families are the most problematic. These kids know what poverty looks like from observing friends and the extended family. They are often poorly-behaved and arrogant, partly because their parents do not have enough time to be with them. Most parents in recent diaspora will send their kids to such schools. For this type, the cane comes in handy because they rarely appreciate their parents' sacrifices.

Lastly, we have the lower-class. These either appreciate reality and work hard to achieve their dreams or succumb to despair and take to substance use. The former can be rectified with canning but the latter are a lost cause.
This is a part of the problem

The other part is the genesis of the education system in Kenya. Schools were segregated according to race, and what the mzungu wanted to achieve from those schools.

Top tier schools like St Marys and Loreto Msongari were meant for whites and asians who later in life were intended to be business and land owners. Below that you had akina Nairobi School, Alliance which were meant to produce bureaucrats for government and other companies. And then the rest of the schools were meant to produce labourers for companies.

Resources were allocated according to tiers. The mzungu tier received the lion's share of resources, the good teachers and more. The bureaucrat African schools received somewhat comparable resources while the labourer tier received little in terms of support. This very same system was then "nationalised" during the process of nationalising government systems to the National, Regional and District etc school tiers.

Now, the problem is this racist system hasn't changed much. The mzungu was only supposed to make the African "literate" enough to work as labourers, but not educated enough to question the policies the mzungu had put in place. They had hoped employment would shut the African up.

The very same abuses the mzungu meted on the African is what has been passed down to this day. And guess the mzungu's favourite inculcation/indoctrination/punishment technique... corporal punishment.

And do you think the two you mentioned are ready to do it after stopping the action for a very long time. Remember some have lost their jobs for caning
There is the legal hurdle that must be overcome before caning is re-introduced. That is the biggest headache.

This is a political gimmick. Both of these CSs know caning will not deliver any results. But they want to be seem busy offering solutions.

For those supporting this backward idea, table the evidence. Bring on well reasoned arguments that are supported by facts. Enecdotes are not facts.
As a parent of a potential high school student (potential high school student coz TVTIs are looking like a better deal everyday,after all mimi si ni kapenta?) I get scared when I read all these views and opinions regarding our education system.

JazzMan

As a parent of a potential high school student (potential high school student coz TVTIs are looking like a better deal everyday,after all mimi si ni kapenta?) I get scared when I read all these views and opinions regarding our education system.
This is what CBC is meant to re-introduce. Hizi TVETs ndio ni muhimu, lakini the segregation imepangwa hapo sio mchezo. Wanataka kufanya degree ziwe nadra kama kitambo

That is a topic that needs to start in many households After all a HND is the equivalent of a degree. And a neega might be earning as he is earning his HND. High school on the other hand,shimo haiishi...

The best resource that we have are our people. We are a regional powerhouse because of our human capital. We can do better if we allocated resources towards production of skilled workforce in large quantities while improving quality. We demolished and defunded TVET education in favour of a large number of degree mills/public universities that are now collapsing. Our economy cannot absorb all those graduates we are producing. We need to look at the global labour market for opportunities. Technocal skills are in demand. Do we have them?

Is it even necessary for everyone to have a degree?

While not really necessary, at least not make it difficult to obtain one should it become necessary.
It should be subsidized by the government and more research funds made available. Admission should be strictly on merit. So should promotion and general management of universities.

JazzMan

Admission should be strictly on merit
Hapa tu ndio sikubaliani nawe. Vitu kama hizi ndio mkoloni alituwekea kufungia watu hawataki nje, and the same has been widely adopted here, locking out many who are deserving. It's basically a system of exclusion with exams as the means of exclusion, leading to cases of corruption as prospective students are desperate to join.

A look at how the Scandinavians do it; the Danish only need a high school certificate, only some specialised courses and institutions have entry exams. Finland evaluates based on competence. Norway funds unis based on output; the more a uni can output, the more funding they receive. They also admit students in three ways; completion of high school education, completion of a vocational course, five years of work experience. Systems of inclusion.

Hapa tu ndio sikubaliani nawe. Vitu kama hizi ndio mkoloni alituwekea kufungia watu hawataki nje, and the same has been widely adopted here, locking out many who are deserving. It's basically a system of exclusion with exams as the means of exclusion, leading to cases of corruption as prospective students are desperate to join.

A look at how the Scandinavians do it; the Danish only need a high school certificate, only some specialised courses and institutions have entry exams. Finland evaluates based on competence. Norway funds unis based on output; the more a uni can output, the more funding they receive. They also admit students in three ways; completion of high school education, completion of a vocational course, five years of work experience. Systems of inclusion.

By merit, I meant that each institution would create an objective admission criteria which will strictly applied to all prospective students. That criteria could be entrance exams, prior training or experience etc.

Our economy is not as big as Scandnavian countries. We may need to ration university slots because we cannot afford to pay for everyone. If we do not ration on merit, wouldn't we be excluding deserving people?

I really want them to introduce the kane. Let them pour more fuel on this fire so that consumes the entire education system. I guarantee it won't take more than a term for boarding schools to implode. Wale wako na watoto high school pray they don't emerge with life threatening injuries once the violence kicks off.

Maybe then people will start using their heads.

I really want them to introduce the kane. Let them pour more fuel on this fire so that consumes the entire education system. I guarantee it won't take more than a term for boarding schools to implode. Wale wako na watoto high school pray they don't emerge with life threatening injuries once the violence kicks off.

Maybe then people will start using their heads.
You don't have children. Do you?