Votes: 7 29.2%
  • i dont care

Votes: 2 8.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

You don't have children. Do you?
I am actually a guardian of one who I have been supporting for years now. Straight A student. I have introduced him to programming and learning from online courses. The kid governs himself bila kuambiwa and yet nobody kanes him. He just learns from my example and that of his mum.

If your kid is ill mannered, just look at yourself or the mom. Kids learn by watching what you do not what you tell them to do.

I am actually a guardian of one who I have been supporting for years now. Straight A student. I have introduced him to programming and learning from online courses. The kid governs himself bila kuambiwa and yet nobody kanes him. He just learns from my example and that of his mum.

If your kid is ill mannered, just look at yourself or the mom. Kids learn by watching what you do not what you tell them to do.
Great work there! Kudos.

emali

upate mtoto.. you leave him with a mboch from a few months old.. doing your 8 to 5..then of course pub jioni na club weekend.. unaskuma mtoto to boarding school at 8yrs old..
holidays ako up country na shosh.. anamaliza high school pia boarding..

you do not know that human being.. because you didn't bring him up.. you left that responsibility to other people.. usishangae akiwa priest ama awe jambazi.. kiboko won't solve anything

Doc oga

Hapa tu ndio sikubaliani nawe. Vitu kama hizi ndio mkoloni alituwekea kufungia watu hawataki nje, and the same has been widely adopted here, locking out many who are deserving. It's basically a system of exclusion with exams as the means of exclusion, leading to cases of corruption as prospective students are desperate to join.

A look at how the Scandinavians do it; the Danish only need a high school certificate, only some specialised courses and institutions have entry exams. Finland evaluates based on competence. Norway funds unis based on output; the more a uni can output, the more funding they receive. They also admit students in three ways; completion of high school education, completion of a vocational course, five years of work experience. Systems of inclusion.

Huu ndio ukweli wazee wanaogopa to face, doing the same thing every time expecting a better outcome. This country is the way it is because of those men born before the 80s.

Mwalimu Ako na stress as a result of financial inadequacies, shule yenyewe chakula ni bogus, bogus schooling environment, na Sheria za kikoloni ambazo hata wanafunzi hawaelewi.

If the teacher is poor na anakufunza ati uwe financially stable, do you expect the kids to conform to that kind of education?

Pay teachers well na hizi vitu zote hutawahizisikia tena ama Kuna canning Braebun, brookhouse na kina peponi? Skirting around the truth won't end our education problems. Education and research iwe well funded...na huyo magiha alipwe mshahara ya mwalimu wa Highschool tuone kama at survive.
The starting basic salary of a graduate teacher in Job group K is 41K against the other sectors graduates who start at Job group J, with 34K. A teacher's salary goes to the next job group every 3 years. Hii mambo ya poorly paid ni hekaya za abunwasi. Most high school teachers earn over 100k making them to be in the 20% top earners in the country. Now combine this with 3 months off, working in your home County and an annual leave of 30 days, teaching profession lives a 'soft life' others civil servants can only dream of.

neloangelo

Kenyans tukona very short memories. Even during heavy canning there were school fires. The difference between then and now is that we have social media and everyone with a smartphone is basically a citizen journalist.

Caning was banned because some teachers walikuwa wanatolea other people's kids hasira through caning.
1638939585764.png

Huu ndio ukweli wazee wanaogopa to face, doing the same thing every time expecting a better outcome. This country is the way it is because of those men born before the 80s.
I sometimes listen to my elders and I am shocked about how close minded most of them are. They only think in one line which is a symptom of 'training' via the kane.

They are rarely capable of free thought. It is always bangi this, bangi that. It is drugs that are making them riot. Surely!!

Mtumsafi

For a good number of private schools, especially the high-end types, kiboko ni kitu routine. Huwezi kuchezea biashara ya mtu.
Correct. In my son's school the deputy is the only one who canes them. If as a parent you object you are just politely told to transfer your brat to another school. And it's not a high end school, but the teacher owners are old school types and hawataki ushenzi. And majority of us parents don't object

WE WILL NOT CANE STUDENTS. OURS IS TO TEACH AND GO HOME

By Amunga Akhanyalabandu.

The biggest culprits of failed education sector in Kenya is Matiang'i and Magoha. They ignored everyone including key stakeholders. They debased teachers and made us look stupid before our learners. They came up with rules that made schools impossible to manage for teachers.

Now, Magoha wants us to beat up learners. We were not trained for that. Nobody pays teachers to punish learners.

Matiang'i and Magoha must be told that the UN and AU Charters outlaw caning of students. Kenya is a signatory.

Simply, teachers do NOT be part of an international crime of canning students. If students want to burn schools, that's none of our business... let flying squad who are paid for such deal with it.
If they want to smoke bangi... Let anti narcotics deal with it.

OURS IS TO TEACH AND GO HOME RUNNING..

#AmungaPeter

WE WILL NOT CANE STUDENTS. OURS IS TO TEACH AND GO HOME

By Amunga Akhanyalabandu.

The biggest culprits of failed education sector in Kenya is Matiang'i and Magoha. They ignored everyone including key stakeholders. They debased teachers and made us look stupid before our learners. They came up with rules that made schools impossible to manage for teachers.

Now, Magoha wants us to beat up learners. We were not trained for that. Nobody pays teachers to punish learners.

Matiang'i and Magoha must be told that the UN and AU Charters outlaw caning of students. Kenya is a signatory.

Simply, teachers do NOT be part of an international crime of canning students. If students want to burn schools, that's none of our business... let flying squad who are paid for such deal with it.
If they want to smoke bangi... Let anti narcotics deal with it.

OURS IS TO TEACH AND GO HOME RUNNING..

#AmungaPeter
I would.have liked to know which policies he is opposed to.

Though if I were running a school, I wouldn't hire him. He has a negative attitude.

Doc oga

I sometimes listen to my elders and I am shocked about how close minded most of them are. They only think in one line which is a symptom of 'training' via the kane.

They are rarely capable of free thought. It is always bangi this, bangi that. It is drugs that are making them riot. Surely!!
And most important is to separate religion from education. Wanasoma CRE/IRE na Bado wanachoma shule. The indoctrination and mind control must stop.