Of bad purchases

Uyu alipata iyo gari ukiuziwa na previous owner details Tesla wanai switch off which technically renders it useless to the New Owner
Homologation applies to regions where Tesla don't have an official presence, the vehicles aren't supported. It's not about change of ownership.

mkurugenzi

After interviewing the Tesla owner in Kenya, the EV experts from the US wrote:

Quote:

Our Verdict on EVs in Africa
EVs have taken the industry by storm, and the expansion is only just beginning. While the idea of owning an EV in African countries or any other remote areas without manufacturer support seems daunting, we came to a conclusion that the transition is actually smooth and effortless. Charging stations don’t carry the same “weight” as gas stations. While it’s unreasonable (and unhealthy) to have a gas station at your house, it’s perfectly normal and economical to have a charging port or station at your house.

The cost savings especially in Africa are way bigger than those of an EV user in the west, largely because the cost of fuel in most African countries is way above a dollar. And that’s just fuel cost, maintenance cost of used cars imported into Africa is directly proportional to the large spare parts market in the region…not to mention most of these spare parts are second hand as brand new parts are heavily taxed and unaffordable to the majority.

The performance of the Model X 75D in topic puts to shame every other daily driver we could find on the streets. An all rounded car that will go grocery shopping, pick up the kids every school day and race on drag strips during weekends without ‘sweating’.

Perhaps the only thing that would ease the transition into EVs especially in Africa is tax credit. This Model X was taxed as a full optioned Range Rover, Land Cruiser 200 or Bentayga. All those have heavy C02 emissions, but that was neglected during registration. Largely because the tax agents were not well informed, and the government has no formal law on the taxation of zero emission cars even though Kenya is working towards Sustainable Development Goals – mind you, UNDP and UNEP are both located in Nairobi.

That said, we believe EVs have a more significant role in Africa than ICEs. Affordability of cars is still a “rich mans sport”, any useful option in a car is considered a luxury and is taxed accordingly. Options such as sunroofs, driving assistance systems, heated seats, leather seats, larger wheels etc – all these are heavily taxed. The ordinary citizen is thus left with the choice of a heavily used car that is several years old with safety systems depleted. So, instead of dumping banned diesel cars in Africa, EVs should be made available and affordable to all. The culture of “this looks too fancy, tax it double” should be a forgotten habit.

Perhaps the only thing that would ease the transition into EVs especially in Africa is tax credit. This Model X was taxed as a full optioned Range Rover, Land Cruiser 200 or Bentayga. All those have heavy C02 emissions, but that was neglected during registration. Largely because the tax agents were not well informed, and the government has no formal law on the taxation of zero emission cars even though Kenya is working towards Sustainable Development Goals – mind you, UNDP and UNEP are both located in Nairobi.
Finance bill 2019 put BEV duty at 10% why wasn't it applied? Na uache kulia kababa, sawa?

mkurugenzi

I have amended that comment, it was more about the challenges of the current tesla that he may not want to get another tesla here in Kenya
But the owner said that he has had no challenges with his tesla. Ati ni kama simu you just charge and go, and only maintenance is changing tires and brake pads, and air filter ya AC kwa cabin, which he has been doing at home. Hata charging he is doing it at home.

Question: Maintenance costs. Who does your service?
Answer: So far so good, we have no maintenance costs. We only had to change into a new set of tires and brakes. It’s like a phone, what do you have to service other than charge it on a regular basis? Perhaps the only other thing we have to consider as “service”, is the HEPA filtration system – Tesla’s air conditioning system which filters out pollen, bacteria etc. We have to order the filters from the UK.

But the owner said that he has had no challenges with his tesla. Ati ni kama simu you just charge and go, and only maintenance is changing tires and brake pads, and air filter ya AC kwa cabin, which he has been doing at home. Hata charging he is doing it at home.

Question: Maintenance costs. Who does your service?
Answer: So far so good, we have no maintenance costs. We only had to change into a new set of tires and brakes. It’s like a phone, what do you have to service other than charge it on a regular basis? Perhaps the only other thing we have to consider as “service”, is the HEPA filtration system – Tesla’s air conditioning system which filters out pollen, bacteria etc. We have to order the filters from the UK.
would you think he can actually say what the real challenges are?, the devil is in the details, he would have quickly said he would not mind getting the cyber truck if he was enjoying it

Nilinunua an acoustic guitar way back in 2008 that I have never used. One of the stupidest things I have ever done. Hio kitu huniuma mpaka wa leo.
What's stopping you from using it? It's not like it has a high entry barrier. Go to YouTube and watch the tutorials hapo. I wish I could afford one, naeza taka kujua sana.