Masaibu ya Diasporans

Mjamaa

Nimeland.

From my observations, living abroad is crazy. Here is why:
1. Dealing with racism: Imagine being used to shopping at Garden City or Two Rivers in peace. Then being followed by racist POS in a Walmart. Driving around is stressful as you have to have a 360 degree vision to watch for cops who may pull you up.etc

2. Individualism: Individualistic lifestyle is crazy. This contributes to loneliness which explains why mental health is an issue abroad.

3. Too many laws: Something as simple as walking with a beer can outside the bar can land you in jail. Even loitering is a felony. Felony means you will never ever get a decent job the rest of your life. We got it right in Kenya.

4. Dating is a tricky affair: You could be framed for rape or aggravated assault if a lady is mad at you. Hiring prostitutes is even riskier. A shot is like $70 for an okay quality whore. Not worth the hassle. Best save and blow that cash up in Vumbistan during your annual vacation.

5. Fickle Friendships: In fact, Kenyans avoid each other like plague in US. Some even snitch on Kenyans whose visas have expired, causing them to be deported. The arrogance and sense of entitlement of those "gatekeepers" or Kenyans who have been in US longer is a real turnoff.

Ongezeeni....

Kabuda

Nimeland.

1. Dealing with racism: Imagine being used to shopping at Garden City or Two Rivers in peace. Then being followed by racist POS in a Walmart. Driving around is stressful as you have to have a 360 degree vision to watch for cops who may pull you up.etc

2. Individualism: Individualistic lifestyle is crazy. This contributes to loneliness which explains why mental health is an issue abroad.

3. Too many laws: Something as simple as walking with a beer can outside the bar can land you in jail. Even loitering is a felony. Felony means you will never ever get a decent job the rest of your life. We got it right in Kenya.

4. Dating is a tricky affair: You could be framed for rape or aggravated assault if a lady is mad at you. Hiring prostitutes is even riskier. A shot is like $70 for an okay quality whore. Not worth the hassle. Best save and blow that cash up in Vumbistan during your annual vacation.

5. Fickle Friendships: In fact, Kenyans avoid each other like plague in US. Some even snitch on Kenyans whose visas have expired, causing them to be deported. The arrogance and sense of entitlement of those "gatekeepers" or Kenyans who have been in US longer is a real turnoff.

Ongezeeni....
You need to move out of the hood and to another state.
Hizi mashida watu walipitia in the 90s.
Shira ni wewe.

Hehehehe ukienda majuu concentrate on what took u there, you are on a mission not a vacation. Make a shitload of money or pursue a high-value course and make some smart investments where your placenta was buried. Huko ndio kwenyu, not Minnesota or Kentucky. I did that between 2010- 2015. Btw, Its very naive to expect that living abroad will be as easy and welcoming as kukaa kwenu muchatha kwenye mnapikiwa busaa hapo mung'etho. There's a price for everything.

pop in

Nimeland.

Ongezeeni....
No 5 ni ukweli mtupu given you have to be 'hosted' by someone most likely from kenya who was also likely "hosted" by another kenyan so unapata kenyans ni wengi concentrated in certain areas ukiwa mgeni from kenya wacha tu infact the best thing is to tell them you moved from another state.
Same thing at the workplace wakenya huletana, huko pia ni wivu galore kwanza ukianza kupanda the ladder na umekua "juzi"

pop in

Nimeland.

Ongezeeni....
No 5 ni ukweli mtupu kwanza hapo kwa gatekeepers