Land - Bonoboism

What's the idea behind people buying huge chunks of land and letting it stay idle for years to speculate? You find someone investing 50 Million to buy land just to have it idle to collect ksh 10-15 million in 5 years. I find it utterly stupid to tie such resources on an empty piece of land in the middle of nowhere. Why not take such resources to establish a business that could employ a dozen of youths from your village. You could even start a small factory with such cash empowering your whole community. This will propably earn you more and get you LIVING. Your name lives on.

The proplem with Africa it has 1000s of such guys with that lazy mentality hindering industrialization , the reason Somalis own soo many businesses is because literally no Somali will own land just for the sake of it ni kitu haiwezi ingia akili yangu. I would rather start a small business and empower 3-5 families.

What's the idea behind people buying huge chunks of land and letting it stay idle for years to speculate? You find someone investing 50 Million to buy land just to have it idle to collect ksh 10-15 million in 5 years. I find it utterly stupid to tie such resources on an empty piece of land in the middle of nowhere. Why not take such resources to establish a business that could employ a dozen of youths from your village. You could even start a small factory with such cash empowering your whole community. This will propably earn you more and get you LIVING. Your name lives on.

The proplem with Africa it has 1000s of such guys with that lazy mentality hindering industrialization , the reason Somalis own soo many businesses is because literally no Somali will own land just for the sake of it ni kitu haiwezi ingia akili yangu. I would rather start a small business and empower 3-5 families.
it has been proven to work. buy and just lie low, hakuna kusumbuana na employees ,suppliers ,gava etc. afterall mnazaana kama panya making land a worthwhile investment, very soon you'll need that space .

Ujue tukizaana kama panya na hio iwe our ancestral land tunaichukua ,hata katiba yetu inaruhusu

Perhaps you didn't see this profound statement. Eti start a small business? Ha ha ha ha!

Just another dimension of the bonoism prevelant in this country. Business is not a side histle,if you decide to set up a business be sure you're around 80% of the time and when you're not around set up measures and controls tuat hinder theft. Remeber a padlock does not prevent theft it just deters people who are not thieves from stealing. Mwizi atavunja kufuli na kuiba.The moment you have your business set up with 0 controls you start tempting even the most innocent simple girl from the village.

Idonbilivit.............

Totally agree with OP.

Such land inafaa basi iwe inatozwa some kinda tax after say 5 years of being idle in order to foster development or selling it off.
Unapata Kenya ni kubwa ata kuliko nchi kama Germany yet watu wamefinyana kwa shanties yet nje tu ya mijii mikuu kumejaa shamba design ya noma.

A banker recently told me that kuna 2T in fixed and current accounts in all of Kenya's banks earning such little interest that once you factor inflation, ni value to hiyo pesa inapoteza.. no wonder the recently, CBK wanted to raise Kshs 75 billion. The market offered Kshs 151 billion. This shows that there is a lot of money not being invested.
My ¢2...

Totally agree with OP.

no wonder the recently, CBK wanted to raise Kshs 75 billion. The market offered Kshs 151 billion. This shows that there is a lot of money not being invested.
My ¢2...
hio hata mimi ilinishangaza, it also means real estate is no longer the prime investment option yet the market is huge at the middle to lower income segment.
If laws can be amended to ensure inputs are fairly priced and a simple 2 bedroom unit to cost around 1.5m or less , shanties will be a thing of the past. And "investors"' will have a place to put their monies.

Si pesa yako si shamba lako unaumwa na? It does not do ya blood pressure any good kushughulika ms yasiyo kuhusu.

Quite a complex issue this is, caused a number of factors. Some of these include commercialization of land, a culture of land speculation, a dormant stock market, an entrenched fraud culture (you would not trust someone to invest your money,) low exposure to manufacturing and other opportunities, and the absence of any credible government policy to direct excess money into productive use. These monies, when circulated in land purchases, are a major contributor to inflation.

On a different note, some of the responses I am reading above are beyond dumb. I won't mention names but I am beginning to suspect this village is populated by very interesting characters.