Kujikosea heshima

This thread reminds me of the time I visited my friend in Toronto Canada July 2021.

We were lining up in a takeout section of Swiss Chalet/Harvey’s hamburger restaurants.
Next to us was a line for those collecting pre-ordered food by telephone.

Unasikia tu 5326… 27, 28 and so on being announced. A driver steps forward and collects an assorted order of broiled chicken parts, pork back or side ribs, fries, chicken wings. The drivers were for Skip the Dishes, Uber Eats and DoorDash. Mostly immigrants.
My shocking surprise was that no driver was asked for a confirmation code number or driver kitambulisho before disappearing with the food.

So, I told my friend, kama hii inge kuwa Kenya … Wueeh !!!
Huko there is an honour system which is put in practice.

By the way, Swiss Chalet is a higher end version of Sanford and Chips, and Harvey’s is a hamburger restaurant. The same corporation owns both food chains. But I still prefer Sanford kuku/chips na sausages to Swiss chalet broilers.
Manze. Kuna civility tunafaa kuwa nayo na hatuna. Even queues here, people barely regard them. You're waiting in line and some people will just come and without any shame, 'cut' the line. Unashindwa ni kukosa akili, kulelewa kama kuku ama tu ukosefu wa nidhamu...

Karma_mama

Manze. Kuna civility tunafaa kuwa nayo na hatuna. Even queues here, people barely regard them. You're waiting in line and some people will just come and without any shame, 'cut' the line. Unashindwa ni kukosa akili, kulelewa kama kuku ama tu ukosefu wa nidhamu...
This gets to me and I do speak up if I am alone. If with relatives, they seem embarrassed as if I am causing trouble. If everyone calls them out, maybe the behaviour can change.

MkukiMoto

This gets to me and I do speak up if I am alone. If with relatives, they seem embarrassed as if I am causing trouble. If everyone calls them out, maybe the behaviour can change.
I agree with your comments about relatives'
Too many times, I reluctantly kept quiet.
But not always 😃

MkukiMoto

Is it only lack civility or something else?
I see passengers daily in long line ups in Nairobi CBD patiently waiting for matatus to take them home.

Giggz

First thing is to call emergency services.
Try to help people if you can before they get there. It depends on if helping endangers you in which case you shouldn't attempt helping.

The last thing on your mind would be helping yourself to anything.

I have thought about this often and concluded that it is this way because no one is in dire need. Basic needs have been met that is. Everyone who wants to is housed and fed.
It results in social cohesiveness where there is less 'us' and 'them'. You therefore start valuing humans as brothers and sisters. My 2 cents..
It was the same here before we westernised too much.