KQ

IMG_20221220_054229.jpg

what happened from 2013?

Why can't the government cancel those leasing contracts?
Hasn't the war in Ukraine opened folks eyes to have at least local solutions?

If kq is sold to Americans, won't we be at their mercies? what if at some point they decides to cancel us if we don't accept their agendas?

The only business that is well profitable in Kenya is doing business with government.

Cortedivoire

2013 Titus Naikuni was the CEO. The problems for KQ started when he took helm
First he introduced leasing of airplanes. It said that the planes are owned by Kenyatta family. Every month KQ pays billions to Kenyattas without fail
Another way of siphoning billions was cancelling flights intentionally and diverting passengers to politician owned hotels. Do you know ole sereni is owned by Naikuni?
Once a flight is cancelled, KQ pays for hotel, shuttle buses owned by politicians, fines for failing to land in other airport and penalty to reschedule another landing for the plane. One flight cancellation can cost over 60 million.
Naikuni was the cancer that is still killing KQ

If kq is sold to Americans, won't we be at their mercies?
I don't wanna spoil a juicy tale but the proposal is to sell less than 49% to Delta, US's most profitable airline.
I'm neutral at this point as well as the proposal to merge with SAA. Thing is, we can't continue using billions of our taxpayer's revenue to bail the airline year in, year out. It's insanity to do the same thing expecting different results.

All in all, the brand shouldn't disappear. It brings national pride and can still compete under competent leadership as NBO is strategically placed in global aviation.

Just curious.
What do we,as a country, stand to lose of we sell the entire damn KQ to foreigners or even private investors here?
For one, I know we would stop losing the billions used every year to bail it out.

The owner is called Ghulam, an Indian octogenarian who runs both Emara & olesereni hands on everyday.
I guess the Naikuni rumours come about from allegations that he alongside others grabbed the land coz huwa very awkwardly placed. Ata kuingia both hotels isn't straightforward

I'm neutral at this point as well as the proposal to merge with SAA. Thing is, we can't continue using billions of our taxpayer's revenue to bail the airline year in, year out. It's insanity to do the same thing expecting different results
correct that's why people need to be prosecuted particularly folks who sign skewed contracts for the government, people need to take ownership for the decisions they made while in leadership.
Coz kq was deliberately made to fall since they all knew government will always bail it out.
Kq should be the pride of Kenyan tax payers, .government should have control of some key assets locally, global politics can shift any time the way russia was done, Zimbabwe was also ferked because of not having enough control or alternatives.

American companies are the worst when it comes to longterm outlook, these guys are mad about quarterly profit nos. and if anything comes in between inakatwa very fast. Sioni vile longterm interests za kenyans will be taken care of.
Shida ni suitors ni wachache sana, other than the yankees, ni mwarabu na mchinku tu anakakitu

Ubongo

So we can't solve our problems internally....we can't get to the bottom of the problem and try to rectify the mess in this airline.
Does it mean we shall sell all the other parastatals that aren't performing

Sioni vile longterm interests za kenyans will be taken care of.
Which are these interests?
To me, am only concerned about an efficient airline that will offer better service than the current KQ at a fair cost. Those other issues of sijui national pride don't really help anybody in any way.

To me, am only concerned about an efficient airline that will offer better service than the current KQ at a fair cost.
Thats the interest, when other airlines realise Nairobi is a captive market ndio utakuta their connection scheduling doesn't give a fuck about us, utajikuta na 18hr lay-overs in Addis or DXB na hotel room ni wewe.
Then ukuje cargo.....

Thats the interest, when other airlines realise Nairobi is a captive market ndio utakuta their connection scheduling doesn't give a fuck about us, utajikuta na 18hr lay-overs in Addis or DXB na hotel room ni wewe.
Then ukuje cargo.....
As it is, we dont have a shortage of foreign airlines to most destinations, and coats far more reasonable than "our" KQ.
I must also add that Emirates has excellent service compared to "our" KQ.