Kenya is doomed, go create your business elsewhere

AU5

Administrator
Helping one person is tokenism(giving a man a fish) rather than setting up structures that work across board(teaching him to fish). Point is so everyone wanting to setup a business should be seeking Nzioka?

Amen!

Helping one person is tokenism(giving a man a fish) rather than setting up structures that work across board(teaching him to fish). Point is so everyone wanting to setup a business should be seeking Nzioka?
I always give everyone a benefit of doubt, if the young man met Nzioka, and narrate on the individuals and organisations that played a role in aborting his Innovative ideas, don't you think action will be taken and things will change for the better? I don't think a whole director of PDU will just intervene for one case and leave it at that. Trust me heads will roll.

Kender9

I thought he said "he will be guided by the regulatory agencies", very different from "tokenism"

Kender9

I always give everyone a benefit of doubt, if the young man met Nzioka, and narrate on the individuals and organisations that played a role in aborting his Innovative ideas, don't you think action will be taken and things will change for the better? I don't think a whole director of PDU will just intervene for one case and leave it at that. Trust me heads will roll.
I somehow understand where the regulatory agencies are coming from
1. Setting up a processing plant in a residential area is dangerous n a hazard to the residents: due to noise, environmental pollution n waste management.(NEMA)
2. When it comes to packaging foodstuff, standards must be met, to avoid contamination. Proper preservation is also a must (Kebs)

If these and other conditions are not met, nyinyi kama wananchi ndio mtaanza kucomplain ati govt agencies zimelala na kuna mtu ako na factory kwa nyumba, ooh sijui the products are not up to standard.
My 2 cents though.

imei2012

Unless you are new to kenya my friend... Its a well known fact that its a country with war with its youth. Starting a business in kenya is damn expensive, myriad regulatory, expensive and many licensing, beuractic redtapes etc being an entrepreneur here is a recipe for high blood pressure, mzee kibaki really tried but we are yet to get there..

Again structures should be working such that no has to seek nzioka inorder to be 'guided'
Seems th
I somehow understand where the regulatory agencies are coming from
1. Setting up a processing plant in a residential area is dangerous n a hazard to the residents: due to noise, environmental pollution n waste management.(NEMA)
2. When it comes to packaging foodstuff, standards must be met, to avoid contamination. Proper preservation is also a must (Kebs)

If these and other conditions are not met, nyinyi kama wananchi ndio mtaanza kucomplain ati govt agencies zimelala na kuna mtu ako na factory kwa nyumba, ooh sijui the products are not up to standard.
My 2 cents though.
Exactly, we have a habit of demonising institutions since they do not do as we want. Hoping the young man shall be guided accordingly and assisted his kind of brains(Innovative) are a rarity .

Unless you are new to kenya my friend... Its a well known fact that its a country with war with its youth. Starting a business in kenya is damn expensive, myriad regulatory, expensive and many licensing, beuractic redtapes etc being an entrepreneur here is a recipe for high blood pressure, mzee kibaki really tried but we are yet to get there..
Although I am not a youth , I have opened several businesses, I realized early on, getting the required licences is no walk in the park. maybe I am new to your kind of Kenya since I got all the licence without problems.

Mwendawazimu

If we only had a hub,like huduma centre/one stop shop ,where all your business needs are solved when registering. If its food processing or any other business all agencies should be there to direct you on the right processes/licences at the beginning,you pay for everything and go about your business.