Is Inheritance Taxable?

Kdawg254

Does KRA tax inheritance?
Say for instance mzee auze shamba and decides to give you part of the money as inheritance is this money taxable by KRA?
First off can such money be termed as inheritance?
Tax guru @Okiya tuelimishe.

Say for instance mzee auze shamba and decides to give you part of the money as inheritance is this money taxable by KRA?
@Mwalimu-G kuja ukanushe
If employed you pay tax
When you join you preferred sacco and get devided from your shares you pay tax, when you enjoy your devided by taking a beer you pay tax

That is not inheritance by definition because you are not transferring the property itself. Hapa Capital Gains will have to be paid.

I wonder if you were to under declare the money paid for the land??

The money may be categorized as inheritance or a gift, both of which are exempt from taxation.

Leviticus 19:18 ESV / 3 helpful votes
You shall not take vengeance or bear a grudge against the sons of your own people, but you shall love your neighbor as yourself: I am the Lord.
Tulitembea kutoka githurai to gatundu after kùmìra kùmìra, dancing and shouting our selves horse ! Now
we are crying and suffering day in day out .We are being shafted left, right and centre