income tax Japanese

Riva

Im not knowledgeable in taxation matters but I will explain something I know.

Kenyans who live and work in foreign countries pay income taxes in those countries. If you go to work in Uganda, your income tax is deducted in Uganda. Kenya won't ask you to pay income tax again. This is not the case with all countries. The USA and Eritria expect their citizens to pay taxes back home. When the same income is taxed twice, we call that double taxation.

I do not know whether the same scenario applies to companies. Lakini remember in legalese, companies are 'persons'.

Dicksclaimer:. Hii porojo yoote nimesama inaweza kuwa ukweli
Nimegoogle nikaona foreigners in Japan pay income tax to Japan and local municipalities….Japanese companies pay tax on their ‘world wide’ income —-hence there’s risk of double taxation here …..however foreign companies operating in Japan must pay tax for their ‘Japan source income’ hence some risk of double taxation for foreign companies as they also need to pay tax to their home countries. However, hio swali ya @wrongturn hapo juu about whether Kenyans/Kenyan companies receive similar exemptions is valid.
nonetheless, all these don’t clarify the question of why we’re actually giving the exemptions to tax as opposed to signing a double taxation treaty which usually means people/corporations from both companies benefit from the agreement.

Isn’t this the normal reciprocal tax agreements? I see nothing unusual here.

Simply, I don’t tax your citizens for income they earn in my country and in return you don’t tax my citizens for income they earn in your country.

Ama? 🤔
not in this scenario, nothing about Kenyans in Japan., are Kenyans working in Japan taxed in kenya?

but am not sure if this is about the projects or what which cs treasury normally does from time to time
IMG_20210519_183526.jpg

Nimegoogle nikaona foreigners in Japan pay income tax to Japan and local municipalities….Japanese companies pay tax on their ‘world wide’ income —-hence there’s risk of double taxation here …..however foreign companies operating in Japan must pay tax for their ‘Japan source income’ hence some risk of double taxation for foreign companies as they also need to pay tax to their home countries. However, hio swali ya @wrongturn hapo juu about whether Kenyans/Kenyan companies receive similar exemptions is valid.
nonetheless, all these don’t clarify the question of why we’re actually giving the exemptions to tax as opposed to signing a double taxation treaty which usually means people/corporations from both companies benefit from the agreement.
but let me ask you, we have Google in kenya, are they taxed in kenya as a company or they're taxed in the U.S. for their overseas revenues?
we have many foreign firms in ke, what will happen if they all say they're also taxed back at home and put pressure on government for exemptions?to avoid double taxation, they should be taxed only back at home?
I think government should make it clear they're only giving exemptions to specific projects sponsored by Japan government.

$$$

I really would like to request that people understand some of these things before giving their half-baked muguka-base opinions..........our media has promoted this kind of low-IQ view of things for too long, but we don't need to follow suit...............
What is your high-IQ view of things Dr. Einstein Methuselah??

Im not knowledgeable in taxation matters but I will explain something I know.

Kenyans who live and work in foreign countries pay income taxes in those countries. If you go to work in Uganda, your income tax is deducted in Uganda. Kenya won't ask you to pay income tax again. This is not the case with all countries. The USA and Eritria expect their citizens to pay taxes back home. When the same income is taxed twice, we call that double taxation.

I do not know whether the same scenario applies to companies. Lakini remember in legalese, companies are 'persons'.

Dicksclaimer:. Hii porojo yoote nimesama inaweza kuwa ukweli
Same thing applied to sports men who go for short term stays in foreign countries for competitions...when Kenyans win marathons abroad they are expected to pay tax there. The kafment also expects them to pay income tax,paye etc.
This is sorted out by countries having tax agreements which either allow the athletes repartriate everything back home and pay tax here or pay tax in the host country and pay nothing here.

Mujwahuki

I believe you should pay your taxes based on the jurisdiction income is earned and the laws of that jurisdiction. Then after when filling for taxes it is highlighted to avoid double taxation.