Free Phone Charging - Naysayers Let's Have Your Say

You Can Now Charge Your Mobile For Free Along Luthuli
Screenshot_20220407-200944~2.png

Kenyans visiting the capital can now charge their mobile phones along Luthuli Avenue – and for free.
The charging booths are the latest additions put in place to change the face of Kenya’s most populous business street.
The charging booths are the brainchild of Keith Migiro – who came up with the idea after running out of charge countless times while running errands in Nairobi town.
Phone charging is a universal concern – especially when you find yourself outdoors. This is what prompted Migiro to start scratching his head for a solution.
He seems to have found a solution - with many Kenyans using the street now flocking to enjoy the free service.
“I decided to put up a free charging booth after enduring a nasty experience while in town. I am sure many people with smartphones often undergo similar experience,” Migiro told Wananchi Reporting.
Referencing one incident – the proverbial last straw that broke his camel back – Migiro who is an entrepreneur recounted how he lost an important client after his phone ran out of charge in the middle of Nairobi.
The charging booth are three meters tall, has a solar plate sitting on its roof to power its ‘engine’ and ensure Kenyans can charge their phones uninterrupted.
The phones are plugged into the socket.
The base of the charging mast adopts the wide base octagon shape to allow enough space for those who want to sit and charge their phones.
“We settled on Luthuli Avenue because it is a busy area even though we are setting up 15 others on other streets in Nairobi.
“Luthuli is not notorious as people perceive. The booth has been there for two weeks, and the feedback is overwhelming. That is why we are going countrywide,” he added
The project is being done in collaboration with the Nairobi Metropolitan Service (NMS).

Kdawg254

Umeona the huge crater (can’t call it a pothole) that’s come up on that road which is barely 3years since it was completed?!

mkurugenzi

Does he have permits and licenses to put up those structures on public roads and spaces? We must not allow people to erect on public places structures that they dreamt of the previous night otherwise the city will descend into total chaos.

Apparently you didn't read the whole piece. Let me quote the report

"The project is being done in collaboration with the Nairobi Metropolitan Service (NMS)."

And remind you that NMS is a UK creation...by extension it has the president's approval. Now tell us Uhunye doesn't approve.

mkurugenzi

Apparently you didn't read the whole piece. Let me quote the report

"The project is being done in collaboration with the Nairobi Metropolitan Service (NMS)."

And remind you that NMS is a UK creation...by extension it has the president's approval. Now tell us Uhunye doesn't approve.
It's OK if he has the permits, and good to see its a partnership with the county. Seems he is using ile concept ya Esther Passaris ya Adopt a light where the project generates revenue by selling advertisement space to stay afloat.

Afro

Umeona the huge crater (can’t call it a pothole) that’s come up on that road which is barely 3years since it was completed?!
I pass by it several times a day. On Thursday kuna nduthi mbili ziligongana head on collision while trying to avoid it. Just inches from why i was walking by

View attachment 58715
Kenyans visiting the capital can now charge their mobile phones along Luthuli Avenue – and for free.
The charging booths are the latest additions put in place to change the face of Kenya’s most populous business street.
The charging booths are the brainchild of Keith Migiro – who came up with the idea after running out of charge countless times while running errands in Nairobi town.
Phone charging is a universal concern – especially when you find yourself outdoors. This is what prompted Migiro to start scratching his head for a solution.
He seems to have found a solution - with many Kenyans using the street now flocking to enjoy the free service.
“I decided to put up a free charging booth after enduring a nasty experience while in town. I am sure many people with smartphones often undergo similar experience,” Migiro told Wananchi Reporting.
Referencing one incident – the proverbial last straw that broke his camel back – Migiro who is an entrepreneur recounted how he lost an important client after his phone ran out of charge in the middle of Nairobi.
The charging booth are three meters tall, has a solar plate sitting on its roof to power its ‘engine’ and ensure Kenyans can charge their phones uninterrupted.
The base of the charging mast adopts the wide base octagon shape to allow enough space for those who want to sit and charge their phones.
“We settled on Luthuli Avenue because it is a busy area even though we are setting up 15 others on other streets in Nairobi.
“Luthuli is not notorious as people perceive. The booth has been there for two weeks, and the feedback is overwhelming. That is why we are going countrywide,” he added
The project is being done in collaboration with the Nairobi Metropolitan Service (NMS).
Si vandals wameona kitu ya kuchangamkia.... kama taps za corona zilichangamkiwa, sambusa hii?

CurrentThing

View attachment 58715
I hope it won't be a magnet for phone snatchers