Farming

7 Benefits and Uses of Castor Oil
  • Castor oil is a multi-purpose vegetable oil that people have used for thousands of years. ...
  • A Powerful Laxative. ...
  • A Natural Moisturizer. ...
  • Promotes Wound Healing. ...
  • Impressive Anti-Inflammatory Effects. ...
  • Reduces Acne. ...
  • Fights Fungus. ...
  • Keeps Your Hair and Scalp Healthy.
Maybe I need to rephrase my question: who buys the beans?

Burner

Maybe I need to rephrase my question: who buys the beans?
I cant remember the name. I was told there was a company that side of Nanyuki that was buying from farmers that were growing it. But that was over a year ago. I would have to ask to see if they are a buying.

Magreb

Try fingering er or is it fingerling business

I know you asked about crops but kama uko na maji. There is a market for fingerlings since not all farmers can breed. You also produce your own fish food by breeding flies in large scale. Visit this mzee if you are interested

Did someone ever tell you of an okuyu farmer who once sold his tribe's mates young tadpoles in the name of fingerlings only for the gullibles to realise later that their fish ponds are full of useless frogs?

I have been out all night, no kastama. I'm considering profitable farming, looking for a high-value crop that can produce an income in the first year. Any assistance/information/mentorship will be highly appreciated.

Asande
Wonderful
Kastama will always eat food first before they drain oil !
Pia wewe utahitaji chakula ,watoto watashiba.Maisha itakuwa sawa . Wishing you all the best mami .

Did someone ever tell you of an okuyu farmer who once sold his tribe's mates young tadpoles in the name of fingerlings only for the gullibles to realise later that their fish ponds are full of useless frogs?
Not really useless frogs...shudda have asked for restaurants selling French fare in Nairobi...

Masgwembe

Ma'am any of the ingredients that are a Kenyan staple can be a profitable venture. Think Onions, tomatoes, dhania, sukuma wiki, potatoes.

Maximum time for these is 12 weeks only. With reliable water supply, you will harvest multiple crops in a year.

I don't really trust those crops you see being promoted on media as they are untested, market is unknown or unreliable and they are fads which all pass.

Ramses

Kitchen gardens...
Case1. You could start with chicken and high value vegetables like tomatoes, capsicums....
Best time to rear improved chickens is July/August targeting sale in December. 1 day old chick is 100 however could prove tricky to novice farmers, 1 month chick goes for about 200 if well fed can fetch 1000 plus in Dec, rearing costs are approx 250.
Use the manure to fertilize your plot,
Start small and scale up as you learn the ropes