Dream House

I find majority of our architectural designs a tad boring, generic and more often than not, so biiig for no reason.

With that in mind, I've always had a contemporary idea of how I'd like my house to eventually look. Something like this...
1602486162559.png

Now the folly in such a design is impraticality due to, and not limited to security matters. I was with a friend in Syokimau yesterday and I wondered out loudly why the homesteads have such high and ugly concrete walls, he quipped back that huwezi karibisha wezi with open arms mjamaa!

Sasa this morning, I've seen the below design and execution by a Tanzanian dude and I think it is feasible.
1602486342450.png

Thoughts?

Mishale

good idea.

apart from security reasons, you should also be prepared to pay more for your house.
those big windows and hanging parts come with cost complication. (especially reinforcement)

if you arent shy on spending more on construction, then go for it.

i would have one that looks like this. ( i love water)

1602489897215.png

1602489913608.png

1602489931306.png

1602489945850.png

1602489967198.png

1602489991365.png

remember, the SIMPLER your house is (smaller windows/openings, typical trussed roof, continuity of supporting walls from the foundation to roof level, simple staircase .....) the CHEAPER it is, while the more MODERN it is (large windows/openings, flat roofs, hanging parts, spiral staircases .....) the more EXPENSIVE it becomes.

one can have a bigger traditional house that's cheaper than your small modern house.

Ngima ya Mûhîa

good idea.

apart from security reasons, you should also be prepared to pay more for your house.
those big windows and hanging parts come with cost complication. (especially reinforcement)

if you arent shy on spending more on construction, then go for it.

i would have one that looks like this. ( i love water)

View attachment 23718

View attachment 23719

View attachment 23720

View attachment 23721

View attachment 23722

View attachment 23723

remember, the SIMPLER your house is (smaller windows/openings, typical trussed roof, continuity of supporting walls from the foundation to roof level, simple staircase .....) the CHEAPER it is, while the more MODERN it is (large windows/openings, flat roofs, hanging parts, spiral staircases .....) the more EXPENSIVE it becomes.

one can have a bigger traditional house that's cheaper than your small modern house.
A house with large windows is cheaper than one with smaller windows. Take for example the cost of a 6ft×5ft window and the cost of that part of it was made of stones, concrete, plaster and paint

Mishale

A house with large windows is cheaper than one with smaller windows. Take for example the cost of a 6ft×5ft window and the cost of that part of it was made of stones, concrete, plaster and paint
yeah,.
but youve also reduced the support for the member above the window leading to more concrete and possibly reinforcement.
but if you replicate the same from top to bottom, its okay.

uniformity is where you save on.

Ssabasajja

nyumba kaa hi unafaa kujenga ukiwa na watoi wadogo. otherwise, itakua kubwa sana kaa ni wewe tu na bibi.
othwerwise itabidi unagoja holidays wajukuu wanakujaa kuwakeep company. (1 month)

Wahindi ndio ujengaa nyumba kaa hizi na wanaishi familia mzima kutoka wazazi hadi grandkids.
I find Asian families overbearing. But you are right, those designs are too much.