DJ Evolve’s medical bill goes through the roof as he remains in ICU

As of Wednesday (February 19), 2:21pm, the medical bill of B-Club DJ, Evolve, whose real name is Felix Orinda, stood at Ksh6.9 million. The patient is receiving treatment at the Nairobi Hospital after he was — on January 17 — allegedly shot in the neck by Embakasi East MP Babu Owino.
DJ-EVOLVE-BILL-2-730x1267.jpg

Orinda’s parents are wondering who will settle the bill despite an existing directive by the courts compelling Babu Owino to foot the expenses.

On January 27, the lawmaker was ordered by the courts to commit at least Ksh10 million to go towards Orinda’s treatment. The money was to be paid in installments across four months.

Owino, on January 28, deposited an initial amount of Ksh2.5 million, which is said to have gone towards offsetting Orinda’s medical bill that had accrued at the time.

Following the MP’s January 30 application seeking to have the Ksh10 million cash bail slapped on him lowered, the suspect, K24 Digital understands, is yet to submit the second installment as his petition is yet to be heard and determined.

The “stalled” case comes on the back of a ballooning medical bill at the Nairobi Hospital, which currently stands at Ksh6.9 million. DJ Evolve’s father, Felix Orinda, however told K24 Digital on Thursday that the bill — 24 hours later — had shot up by close to Ksh600, 000, and was standing at Ksh7.5 million by Thursday mid-day. We couldn’t immediately verify his statement.

“We have been receiving calls from the hospital asking us to settle the medical bill. We can’t raise the needed Ksh7.5 million even if we were to sell a majority of our property,” DJ Evolve’s father, John Orinda, told K24 Digital.

A copy of the bill shared to K24 Digital on Wednesday, February 19, showed that the doctors’ fees, pharmacy charges and the nursing department gobbled up a huge chunk of the expenses with each accounting for Ksh1.66 million, Ksh1.34 million and Ksh900, 000 respectively. The bill as of the date stated stood at Ksh6.9 million.

The medical bill could even go way higher, given the patient is still in critical condition and is admitted at the health facility’s intensive care unit (ICU).

“He is unable to speak, and doctors are feeding him through tubes,” said Evolve’s father.

K24 Digital visited the patient in hospital on Wednesday and confirmed Mzee John Orinda’s claims.

The question that remains conspicuously unanswered is: who will pay DJ Evolve’s medical bill?

Mawaya

So what will happen when all the 10 million the court ordered Babu to pay as cash bail and still go towards the medical expenses?
What will the court have to compel Ongili to attend his hearing?

Only problem here is saying allegedly, he should get squeezed to finish off the bill, next time he'll know how to behave.

So what will happen when all the 10 million the court ordered Babu to pay as cash bail and still go towards the medical expenses?
What will the court have to compel Ongili to attend his hearing?
meffi judge alijitoa jana kwa kesi

In some countries, leave alone such an incident, even an accusation, you won't have peace leaving your house.
While society will be on your case, but we don't have the courage or heart to do such, we in turn worship the wrongdoers.

1.3 million ya pharmacy!

Hizo ni dawa gani? Kwani ameekwa drip ya mihadarati?
Exactly! I have often seen those hospitals shamed to a point where they admitted inflating bills and were forced to reduce the amount.

65% of that hospital's bills are inflated.
In 2017 I had a very, very nasty accident on the Southern By-Pass at about midnight and was taken to Nairobi. After investigations same night I was found to only have a bad head wound which could be stitched up the same night and I could be released. The head knock, painkillers and sedatives however had disorientated me and I wasn't exactly myself. By the time I regained full control it was 2 days later, and my bill was over Sh300,000.

Ukiskia ya Nairobi Womens' usifikirie wengine ni wasafi....................