CVT Fluid

Jug

To change or not to change. Various Car Manufacturers state that the CVT Fluid should remain unchanged during the cars lifetime but they haven't specified the duration although cars nowadays are not meant to last a lifetime like the ones manufactured during the 90's. While doing some search across google i see various Kilometers should be attained then one should change CVT Fluid bearing in mind what the Manufacturer states about the Fluid. Which way forward from Kijiji experts on matters CVT, with AT we used to check the ATF dipstick tukipima na macho if the oil is dirty then the necessary is done. Sande sana

NB:- CVT na ATF fluid ni tofauti, usiende kumwanga ATF Fluid instead of CVT engine ii knock ujipate na bill ingine unnecessary and while at it nisaidiwe na sites za kudownload Car Manuals for the Various Car Manufacturers. Sande Tena

To change or not to change. Various Car Manufacturers state that the CVT Fluid should remain unchanged during the cars lifetime but they haven't specified the duration although cars nowadays are not meant to last a lifetime like the ones manufactured during the 90's. While doing some search across google i see various Kilometers should be attained then one should change CVT Fluid bearing in mind what the Manufacturer states about the Fluid. Which way forward from Kijiji experts on matters CVT, AT we used to check the ATF dipstick tukipima na macho if the oil is dirty then the necessary is done. Sande sana

NB:- CVT na ATF fluid ni tofauti, usiende kumwanga ATF Fluid instead of CVT engine ii knock ujipate na bill ingine unnecessary
Kwani gari yako Haina service manual?

emali

Leta make an model tutafute...na hio ni myth eti cars made in 80s 90s were meant to last forever...

Some manufacturers dont provide clear guidelines on whether it should be changed or never. In my opinion it should be changed. Its not a lifetime fluid as some people make it to be. You are more likely to have GB issues if you dont change it than if you do. Its therefore a small price to pay for peace of mind.

The CVT fluid change should be based on how the car is used. Instead of checking on the state of the fluid before deciding whether to change or not, just follow this simple rules.

If used in traffic and other stressful conditions muddy/slippery road, its advisable to mostly change more frequently say after every 30K Km.

However if mostly highway cruising speed use 50K km range between changes.

I am assuming you had a typical toyota jalopy in mind as you asked this question.

Same here, na other sites want you to pay first na hujui kama ni legit

Utasaidia mimi pia?
DBA-CS2A STJE
Hii ni Mitsubishi lancer ?
There is an aluminium plate hapo kwa engine bay with model ,engine code and transaxle code .
kama transaxle code is F101A then its a CVT .
In that case ingia pale Toyotsu and buy Motul CVTF in one litre packs . Incase your transaxle ni different post the code here and will try and get you the right CVTF or ATF where applicable.
What i usually do is check the oe fluid propertes from material safety data sheet i.e viscosity ,flash point and density and then natafuta from major fluid manufacturers the likes of Motul ,Mitasu ,Xado ,Eneos ,Idemitsu and Aisin .All this brands are available locally .The listed entities hapa chini import the fluids directly to the best of knowledge except Saf Diagnostics. This way you know you are getting genuine fluid .

-Motul from Toyotsu
- Mitasu - Saf Diagnostics hapa Roysambu
- Xado - Pale karibu na Kenya Poly
-Eneos - Off Baricho Road
- Idemitsu - Jaguar Petroleum pale Likoni road
-Aisin - Toyotsu or Federal Automotive pale Dunga Road ukielekea Mater Hospital.

Two previous CVT (Honda and Mazda) equipped vehicles made me do indepth research.

To change or not to change. Various Car Manufacturers state that the CVT Fluid should remain unchanged during the cars lifetime but they haven't specified the duration although cars nowadays are not meant to last a lifetime like the ones manufactured during the 90's. While doing some search across google i see various Kilometers should be attained then one should change CVT Fluid bearing in mind what the Manufacturer states about the Fluid. Which way forward from Kijiji experts on matters CVT, with AT we used to check the ATF dipstick tukipima na macho if the oil is dirty then the necessary is done. Sande sana

NB:- CVT na ATF fluid ni tofauti, usiende kumwanga ATF Fluid instead of CVT engine ii knock ujipate na bill ingine unnecessary and while at it nisaidiwe na sites za kudownload Car Manuals for the Various Car Manufacturers. Sande Tena
For peace of mind change the fluid every 30,000 kilometers ata kama wana sema its lifetime fluid.
I shared a drain and refill procedure last year april ,cheki hapa https://kenyanlist.net/index.php?th...transmission-drain-and-refill-procedure.17402

Hii ni Mitsubishi lancer ?
There is an aluminium plate hapo kwa engine bay with model ,engine code and transaxle code .
kama transaxle code is F101A then its a CVT .
It is
IMG_20180102_132658.jpg

Kile imefanya sikio ziamke ni a momth or so ago kumekuwa na ka kelele when the car starts up, but goes away after about a minute of driving. Mechanic ame change belt, noise went for a week and its now back.
Will look into it

It is
View attachment 62129
Kile imefanya sikio ziamke ni a momth or so ago kumekuwa na ka kelele when the car starts up, but goes away after about a minute of driving. Mechanic ame change belt, noise went for a week and its now back.
Will look into it
Apologies its MITSUBISHI F1C1A as per your image not what i had shared earlier . I can't say the noise when you start the car is related to gear box but incase you will need to drain and refill the gearbox use Motul CVTF thank me later . At least that gearbox iko na dip stick ,once refilled check level when hot .