Cosmology class: Planet names...

How did the planets get their names?
All of the planets, except for Earth, were named after Greek and Roman gods and godesses. Jupiter, Saturn, Mars, Venus and Mercury were given their names thousands of years ago. The other planets were not discovered until much later, after telescopes were invented. The tradition of naming the planets after Greek and Roman gods and goddesses was carried on for the other planets discovered as well. Mercury was named after the Roman god of travel. Venus was named after the Roman goddess of love and beauty. Mars was the Roman god of War. Jupiter was the king of the Roman gods, and Saturn was the Roman god of agriculture. Uranus was named after an ancient Greek king of the gods. Neptune was the Roman god of the Sea. Pluto, which is now classified as a dwarf planet, was the Roman god of the underworld. The name Earth is an English/German name which simply means the ground.
-Cool Cosmos

kijanamrefu

My Gikuyu people didn't know of no planets. The only things they recognized in the firmament were the sun (riua), stars (njata) and the moon (mweri). I stand to be corrected @Meria .
A certain mzee told me of Njata ya Njathi which upon further research, turned out to be Sirius, a star which a lot of other African tribes recognise.

Apparently, there's also a 50 year Jubilee that was observed by elders, similar to a lot of other African tribes.

Sirius's cycle in the sky is what led to the creation of the 365 day calendar and is as old as the pyramids as a time counting system.

A certain mzee told me of Njata ya Njathi which upon further research, turned out to be Sirius, a star which a lot of other African tribes recognise.

Apparently, there's also a 50 year Jubilee that was observed by elders, similar to a lot of other African tribes.

Sirius's cycle in the sky is what led to the creation of the 365 day calendar and is as old as the pyramids as a time counting system.
Interesting!

Doc oga

My Gikuyu people didn't know of no planets. The only things they recognized in the firmament were the sun (riua), stars (njata) and the moon (mweri). I stand to be corrected @Meria .
With Jomo Kenyatta Foundation syllabus we may never know what was once Ancient knowledge of our ancestors. Niko sure we had names for all those planets probably even as far a Sirius 3 suns.

Something should have come down through folklore.

Ngima ya Mûhîa

Proof that it is Venus? Why they call a planet a star?
Tiga urimu mwarimu. Andû a gene matioî difference ya planet na star. Zote walikuwa wanaziita njata. Hata SAA hii MTU ambaye hakuwa keen in science lessons hawezi tell the difference. For me, I can tell the position of Venus, Jupiter, Mars, Saturn at any given time. I can also identify several stars, constellations and galaxies