Contraceptive methods commonly used in Kenya

Contraceptives are devices or drugs used to prevent preganancies.

Whether married or not, coitus has become a basic need, and the consequences of sex are either STDs, pregnancies or both. Since young people tend to avoid pregnancies, I'm going to discuss how to prevent pregnancies.

DISCLAIMER: Most of the methods below don't prevent you from contracting STDs, go for tests before engaging in an unprotected coitus with your partner.

Contraceptives are categorised in two main groups;
  1. Hormonal Contraceptive
  2. Non-hormonal Contraceptive

1. Hormonal Contraceptives

These contraceptives work together with natural body hormones to prevent pregnancy.
  • Pills
  • Injection(Depo provera)
  • Implant

The advantage of hormonal contraceptives is that they are more efficient than other methods. Its disadvantage is you'll experience different body changes such as gain weight, headache, nausea, breast pains and change in the menstrual cycle.

Pills

There are two types of pills; Combined oral pills and progestogen-only pills.
Taking the pills depends on the prescriptions from your doctor, follow every instruction in order for the pill to work effectively. Have a conversation with your doctor, ask questions that would love answered.

Depo Provera

You can get injections every three months. Keep the record of your last injection for it to work effectively. You should get the injection within the first five days of your periods.

Implant

An implant is a rod that is inserted on the upper part of the arm, under the skin. It releases a hormone that prevents pregnancy by preventing the ovaries from releasing an ova. The implant should be inserted during the first five days of your period in order to be effective. The implant can stay up to five years.

2. Non-hormonal Contraceptives

These are contraceptives include;
  • Condom
  • Withdrawal method
  • Intra-Uterine Device also known as Coil
  • Caps and diaphragms
Condoms

This is the safest and accurate method of birth control. Condoms not only prevent pregnancies but also STDs when correctly used. Ensure the condom is correctly placed as indicated on the manual.

Withdrawal method

This is not a 100% contraceptive method, it is not guaranteed that it will prevent pregnancy. Be careful while trying this method of birth control unless you're ready to have a child.

Intra-Uterine Device(Coil)

A device is inserted into a woman's uterus to prevent pregnancy. This method can prevent pregnancy up to 10 years. This method won't affect your weight.

Caps and Diaphragms

These are inserted into a woman's upper part of the vagina to cover the cervix, they block the sperms to prevent pregnancies. These caps need to be inserted at least six hours before having sex.

Don't use the cap during your periods. Always check whether it's in perfect condition. If it has a hole, throw it away and get another.

TIP: Before deciding on the method to use, contact a doctor for professional opinions, some contraceptive a severe side effects and your doctor would advise on the best method to use.

P2 is not a contraceptive, its an emergency pill used after having sex, to prevent pregnancy. It should be used twice a year.

Umejaribu lakini this is not comprehensive. For example we have implants too.

As to your note that P2 should NEVER BE USED MORE THAN TWICE IN A YEAR, good luck with that with our slaykwins. Hiyo kitu wanakula kama githeri every weekend before they become desperate in their 30s...............................and later getting ovarian and uterine cancers like a nonsense...................

Umejaribu lakini this is not comprehensive. For example we have implants too.

As to your note that P2 should NEVER BE USED MORE THAN TWICE IN A YEAR, good luck with that with our slaykwins. Hiyo kitu wanakula kama githeri every weekend before they become desperate in their 30s...............................and later getting ovarian and uterine cancers like a nonsense...................
Hapo kwa implant, wacha nijaze. Asante

Kwa P2, ntatumia ile line ya 'waambie hata kama wanajua'

Luther12

Whether married or not, coitus has become a basic need, and the consequences of sex are either STDs, pregnancies or both. Since young people tend to avoid pregnancies, I'm going to discuss how to prevent pregnancies.

DISCLAIMER: Most of the methods below don't prevent you from contracting STDs, go for texts before engaging in an unprotect coitus with your partner.

These contraceptives work together with natural body hormones to prevent pregnancy.
  • Pills
  • Implant

The advantage of hormonal contraceptives is that they are more efficient than other methods. Its disadvantage is you'll experience different body changes such as gain weight, headache, nausea, breast pains and change in the menstrual cycle.

Pills

There are two types of pills; Combined oral pills and progestogen-only pills.
Taking the pills depends on the prescriptions from your doctor, follow every instruction in order for the pill to work effectively. Have a conversation with your doctor, ask questions that would love answered.

Depo Provera

You can get injections every three months. Keep the record of your last injection for it to work effectively. You should get the injection within the first five days of your periods.

Implant

An implant is a rod that is inserted on the upper part of the arm, under the skin. It releases a hormone that prevents pregnancy by preventing the ovaries from releasing an ova. The implant should be inserted during the first five days of your period in order to be effective. The implant can stay up to five years.

• Condom
  • Withdrawal method
  • Caps and diaphragms
Condoms

This is the safest and accurate method of birth control. Condoms not only prevent pregnancies but also STDs when correctly used. Ensure the condom is correctly placed as indicated on the manual.

Withdrawal method

This is not a 100% contraceptive method, it is not guaranteed that it will prevent pregnancy. Be careful while trying this method of birth control unless you're ready to have a child.

A device is inserted into a woman's uterus to prevent pregnancy. This method can prevent pregnancy up to 10 years. This method won't affect your weight.

Caps and Diaphragms

These are inserted into a woman's upper part of the vagina to cover the cervix, they block the sperms to prevent pregnancies. These caps need to be inserted at least six hours before having sex.

Don't use the cap during your periods. Always check whether it's in perfect condition. If it has a hole, throw it away and get another.

TIP: Before deciding on the method to use, contact a doctor for professional opinions, some contraceptive a severe side effects and your doctor would advise on the best method to use.

P2 is not a contraceptive, its an emergency pill used after having sex, to prevent pregnancy. It should be used twice a year.

55928CDD-D17D-470D-922B-3FA606C9780A.jpeg

For subcutaneous self-injection.
Quarterly.

DISCLAIMER: Most of the methods below don't prevent you from contracting STDs, go for text before engaging in an unprotect coitus with your partner.

• Pills
  • Implant

Pills

There are two types of pills; Combined oral pills and progestogen-
only pills.

Depo Provera

Implant

• Condom
  • Withdrawal method
  • Caps and diaphragms
Condoms

Withdrawal method

Caps and Diaphragms

Fix typos. Otherwise,your article comes out as a bad copy and paste job and the meaning gets lost...

kimiti

Have used withdrawal for the last many years. works very well. there are some i know their calendar more than they know it themselves. Its either am very good at it or i shoot blanks. lakini kwa blanks am sure sio hiyo