Chicken farming in Kenya

Francis25000

Many highschool leavers tend to enjoy themselves and at the end their life become a mystery..
One of the ways to cope idleness is through chicken farming. It is very profitable especially in layers.
One can start with as low as 1000 bob. You can start selling eggs. It may look cumbersome but at the end you will enjoy the fruits.

Ole Waru

Falacy, show us some numbers instead of giving us statements, in poultry the only ones making a profit are the people who sell feed, agrovets, equipment manufacturers and those doing training

Kimstan

Hii kazi inakaa simple lakini sio hata kidogo. Kujenga coop na chakula 1K ni kidogo sana. What about those people who live in rented houses?

Falacy, show us some numbers instead of giving us statements, in poultry the only ones making a profit are the people who sell feed, agrovets, equipment manufacturers and those doing training
Depends on the kind of chicken farming one is talking about.
If one has got space free range chicken farming works out fine. One just needs the initial capital to acquire chick and some medicines for them,which can be minimal.
However if one wants to get into commercial chicken farming,a lot of money is required. Certainly,some amounts are not readily available to the idle youth unless the get financial backing.
If one is getting into incubator chick hatching for sale,still a certain amount is needed since the cheapest incubator that can be commercially viable costs more than 50K.
Still,this does not prevent or protect the youth from idleness since incubators and free range chicken require minimal activity on the part of the youth.
But it is something one can engage in in a small scale as they explore or participate other engagements (not drinking,smoking weed,prostitution,theft,robbery etc)

Sonko

I concur,100% true shit. Been there...

StewMaker

Kuku fuga the indigenous ones, for example kuroila etc.mantaining kuku za grade is very expensive, Kama ndio unaanza you wunt manage. have been doing poultry farming for now 4yrs, the biggest challenge is Uganda is flooding our market with cheap eggs especially in western.so we had to resort to selling chicken and it's not badly off if you know your target market.wacha konyagi akifungua nchi ntaleta evidence

livefire

I keep kienyeji kuku and these things are profitable, started with 300, got lucky my mwera were 180 till production date, i.e laying, jogoo were 72 and the difference died....

Is kienyeji chicken profitable with commercial feeds, yes, i targeted the egg market pale Western and i hit jackpot... Luhyas stopped keeping kukus in bulk, with marriages, circumcisions and funny funny events, sales are a near steady.

Want to triple the profits, buy maize around august to sep at lows of 1300 a sack, dry it and store, buy omena from the lakeside, buy DCP and a kienyeji drum mixer, kuna other elements i haven't mentioned but with this uko safe. Add fugo feeds and you good.

If you have a farm, cultivate your own sukuma and cabbage, your birds will be happy. (I keep mine free ranged but within a confined area), i harvest eggs three times a day. I sell one at 13 at local markets, got some online marketters that sell the same for 20 bob as fertilzed eggs.

Pesa iko kila mahali, if you have the will pesa iko..saka njia zingine depending on locality too....chickens are very profitable

MkukiMoto

I keep kienyeji kuku and these things are profitable, started with 300, got lucky my mwera were 180 till production date, i.e laying, jogoo were 72 and the difference died....
Is kienyeji chicken profitable with commercial feeds, yes, i targeted the egg market pale Western and i hit jackpot... Luhyas stopped keeping kukus in bulk, with marriages, circumcisions and funny funny events, sales are a near steady.
Want to triple the profits, buy maize around august to sep at lows of 1300 a sack, dry it and store, buy omena from the lakeside, buy DCP and a kienyeji drum mixer, kuna other elements i haven't mentioned but with this uko safe. Add fugo feeds and you good.
If you have a farm, cultivate your own sukuma and cabbage, your birds will be happy. (I keep mine free ranged but within a confined area), i harvest eggs three times a day. I sell one at 13 at local markets, got some online marketters that sell the same for 20 bob as fertilzed eggs.
Pesa iko kila mahali, if you have the will pesa iko..saka njia zingine depending on locality too....chickens are very profitable

If you have a farm, cultivate your own sukuma and cabbage, your birds will be happy. 👏

Pesa iko kila mahali, if you have the will pesa iko..saka njia zingine depending on locality too....chickens are very profitable. 👍👍