Slaves of Culture

Sasa umecatch? Haya. Ndinoho daimono!
1 Samuel 16:14-23
King James Version

14 But the Spirit of the Lord departed from Saul, and an evil spirit from the Lord troubled him.

15 And Saul's servants said unto him, Behold now, an evil spirit from God troubleth thee.

16 Let our lord now command thy servants, which are before thee, to seek out a man, who is a cunning player on an harp: and it shall come to pass, when the evil spirit from God is upon thee, that he shall play with his hand, and thou shalt be well.

17 And Saul said unto his servants, Provide me now a man that can play well, and bring him to me.

18 Then answered one of the servants, and said, Behold, I have seen a son of Jesse the Bethlehemite, that is cunning in playing, and a mighty valiant man, and a man of war, and prudent in matters, and a comely person, and the Lord is with him.

19 Wherefore Saul sent messengers unto Jesse, and said, Send me David thy son, which is with the sheep.

20 And Jesse took an ass laden with bread, and a bottle of wine, and a kid, and sent them by David his son unto Saul.

21 And David came to Saul, and stood before him: and he loved him greatly; and he became his armourbearer.

22 And Saul sent to Jesse, saying, Let David, I pray thee, stand before me; for he hath found favour in my sight.

23 And it came to pass, when the evil spirit from God was upon Saul, that David took an harp, and played with his hand: so Saul was refreshed, and was well, and the evil spirit departed from him.

1 Samuel 16:14-23
King James Version

14 But the Spirit of the Lord departed from Saul, and an evil spirit from the Lord troubled him.

15 And Saul's servants said unto him, Behold now, an evil spirit from God troubleth thee.

16 Let our lord now command thy servants, which are before thee, to seek out a man, who is a cunning player on an harp: and it shall come to pass, when the evil spirit from God is upon thee, that he shall play with his hand, and thou shalt be well.

17 And Saul said unto his servants, Provide me now a man that can play well, and bring him to me.

18 Then answered one of the servants, and said, Behold, I have seen a son of Jesse the Bethlehemite, that is cunning in playing, and a mighty valiant man, and a man of war, and prudent in matters, and a comely person, and the Lord is with him.

19 Wherefore Saul sent messengers unto Jesse, and said, Send me David thy son, which is with the sheep.

20 And Jesse took an ass laden with bread, and a bottle of wine, and a kid, and sent them by David his son unto Saul.

21 And David came to Saul, and stood before him: and he loved him greatly; and he became his armourbearer.

22 And Saul sent to Jesse, saying, Let David, I pray thee, stand before me; for he hath found favour in my sight.

23 And it came to pass, when the evil spirit from God was upon Saul, that David took an harp, and played with his hand: so Saul was refreshed, and was well, and the evil spirit departed from him.
Huh?

Yaani umecatch mpaka ukafyatuka?

Violence aside, this is a great post where seniors can educate us on such matters. Sikujua the process is that elaborate and neither will Jr. undergo all that. Uncles ni muhimu as I personally found out and so is the bash but hizo practises kama kulewa na kudishi mumama to prove that one is a man are backward.

It is that season where boys face the knife in my community. A simple operation to remove the foreskin is however riddled with primitive cultural practices that add no value to the practice or the meaning/purpose behind it.

In my village, most boys will be facing the knife tomorrow. This evening, there will be noise pollution from every home with a boy undergoing the cut. Dancing and immorality will rival the infamous disco matanga. Women will be expected to cook a full bale of chapati flour to feed ungrateful locals who have played no part in bringing up the boy.

And don't forget that the boy had to visit that useless uncle a few days ago and bribe him so as "to be allowed" to undergo the cut. The bribe is normally a few thousands of shillings, enough to pay school fees in secondary school for a day scholar.

But before that, and mostly during the last school holidays in September, the boys built some small houses (cubes). A 12-yr old doesn't have resources to do so, thus they ended up stealing from neighbors things like trees, mabati, etc to put up their cubes.

And for the past week and in the coming week, the parents aren't allowed to engage in sex. It is believed that the boy won't heal if the parents do so.

And from tomorrow, it will be hard to find young energetic men engaging in any productive labor. They will be roaming from one homestead to another, eating as much as they can, and oftentimes more than pigs, and demanding a packet of cigarettes from the new initiates. Ati ndio wampatie riika. And on the 8th day after the cut, the parents are expected to host a mega party for the entire village for the boy to "come out". While traditionally this was an occasion to gift the boy with goodies, nowadays it is just an opportunity for ungrateful village leeches to eat what they haven't worked for.

Once the boy is healed, they will be expected to engage in sex with a woman in the name of kùhura mbiro (removing soot). In every village, there's a loose ugly woman, usually older than these boys, who is known to remove the soot. And most definitely, she is a carrier of any STI/STD, including AIDS. The probability of the young boys acquiring one or more from her approaches 100%.

My people of the mountain, why do you stick to such silly and useless practices? Coz me I Kent. I will take my boy to a church-organized function where he will undertake some life lessons and catechism for two weeks. Then on 23st December, I will host a party for a few close friends and relatives to thank God for his successful passage of the rite, and give my parental blessings on him. We wi also be thanking God for his success in KCPE (hoping the results will be out by then).

#endofrant
I needed to sit and answer this propaganda and hate campaign championed by some churches who treat Gīkūyū culture with disrespect! It's a smear campaign whose agenda I don't understand. I can't speak for Kīama kīa Ma but I will clarify the following (in order of importance):

1. Irua is not a simple cut. It's a rite of passage. After the ceremony, the young man is expected to respect himself, the parents and the society. In return, the parents and the society are expected to treat him with dignity and respect. He becomes a young adult.

2. The Kīama does not condone irua conducted on children's small 'cubes' (Simba). Irua is a communal ceremony and should be organized as such. Communal ceremonies allows proper care of the iniates and training of the boy child to become a man. Such ceremonies are entrusted to elders only.

There are urban settings where it's not possible to build such a child a detached house or even a separate room. Kīama accomodates this because culture must be dynamic.

3. Kūhura mbiro(teenage sex) and initiating children to drug abuse is immorality and unacceptable. A young man is expected to have very high standards of behaviour. Some churches have been using this to smear Kīama. It's unfortunate and sad!

4. Maternal Uncle's blessing is important for a number of reasons. One of the most important being that the uncle is expected to mentor the young man. You can't choose an irresponsible person for this role!

5. I'm dismayed that people don't seek to understand their culture. Who says that the western culture is better than ours?

@Aviator , aren't you a slave of Western culture?

@mzeiya, Kuna swali?

I needed to sit and answer this propaganda and hate campaign championed by some churches who treat Gīkūyū culture with disrespect! It's a smear campaign whose agenda I don't understand. I can't speak for Kīama kīa Ma but I will clarify the following (in order of importance):

1. Irua is not a simple cut. It's a rite of passage. After the ceremony, the young man is expected to respect himself, the parents and the society. In return, the parents and the society are expected to treat him with dignity and respect. He becomes a young adult.

2. The Kīama does not condone irua conducted on children's small 'cubes' (Simba). Irua is a communal ceremony and should be organized as such. Communal ceremonies allows proper care of the iniates and training of the boy child to become a man. Such ceremonies are entrusted to elders only.

There are urban settings where it's not possible to build such a child a detached house or even a separate room. Kīama accomodates this because culture must be dynamic.

3. Kūhura mbiro(teenage sex) and initiating children to drug abuse is immorality and unacceptable. A young man is expected to have very high standards of behaviour. Some churches have been using this to smear Kīama. It's unfortunate and sad!

4. Maternal Uncle's blessing is important for a number of reasons. One of the most important being that the uncle is expected to mentor the young man. You can't choose an irresponsible person for this role!

5. I'm dismayed that people don't seek to understand their culture. Who says that the western culture is better than ours?

@Aviator , aren't you a slave of Western culture?

@mzeiya, Kuna swali?
Asante sana mkubwa.

You can imagine the irony that the dude who is denigrating his culture is one of the leading proponents here of homosexuality. Yaani men inserting their penises in each other's anuses and eating shit, or sucking each other's dicks and swallowing the cum. Unferkingbeliavable!!!!!!

Apparently, this is less evil than taking your boy for a ceremonial rite of passage and then building him a small Simba for him to be chilling with friends.

Kama hii si ujinga fermented I don't know what is....

Niweke?

Asante sana mkubwa.

You can imagine the irony that the dude who is denigrating his culture is one of the leading proponents here of homosexuality. Yaani men inserting their penises in each other's anuses and eating shit, or sucking each other's dicks and swallowing the cum. Unferkingbeliavable!!!!!!

Apparently, this is less evil than taking your boy for a ceremonial rite of passage and then building him a small Simba for him to be chilling with friends.

Kama hii si ujinga fermented I don't know what is....

Niweke?
Punguza vawulense kidogo 😁.

Weka! Kwani Iko nini? Weka huko inbox.