Busy Bodies intent on holding Kenya back - Controversial ICT Practitioners bill

CurrentThing

On Wednesday, a contentious ICT Practitioners Bill 2020 went through the final stage – third reading – in the Kenyan Parliament. The Bill now awaits Presidential Assent before it is turned into law.

The bill seeks to establish an ICT Practitioners Institute for training, registration, licensing, practice and setting standards for ICT professionals in Kenya. The proposed Institute will also issue annual licenses to the practitioners at a fee.

Suffice to say, the requirements proposed by the Bill will be a hurdle to many young people wishing to join the profession but do not meet the threshold set by the body. The bill also proposes to introduce an annual licensing fee for the ICT practitioners. This could kill the dreams of young people who want to join the profession but lack money to pay for the annual licenses.

As usual, politicians looking to control any means by which Kenyans can pull themselves out of poverty and make a decent living. The controversial bill was rejected twice before, with the sponsors unable to clearly articulate which problems they want to solve through the bill. Then just when parliament is about to close, it was quickly and silently passed the third time.

Developments in the Kibaki era opened up great opportunities for those in the tech sector but it seems after a while the politicians noticed how lucrative the sector was becoming and started salivating for control. So now they want to place barriers of entry, whereas in other countries, kids are encouraged to get into tech as young as possible so that they can become competitive in the global arena.

If this becomes law, I forsee significant brain drain amongst Kenyan techies as they look for opportunities elsewhere

As usual, politicians looking to control any means by which Kenyans can pull themselves out of poverty and make a decent living. The controversial bill was rejected twice before, with the sponsors unable to clearly articulate which problems they want to solve through the bill. Then just when parliament is about to close, it was quickly and silently passed the third time.

Developments in the Kibaki era opened up great opportunities for those in the tech sector but it seems after a while the politicians noticed how lucrative the sector was becoming and started salivating for control. So now they want to place barriers of entry, whereas in other countries, kids are encouraged to get into tech as young as possible so that they can become competitive in the global arena.
Some contradictions here. Practitioners in the sector want to plead poverty but they also tell us tech is the new frontier for making lots of money.
Supposing all of us pick our share of the bill of being Kenyans?

Some contradictions here. Practitioners in the sector want to plead poverty but they also tell us tech is the new frontier for making lots of money.
You don't get it.
The ICT sector is means for many people to pull themselves out of the circle of poverty. Mainly due to low barriers to entry.
Now they want to make it a big boys club like it was in the 90s

CurrentThing

It's about a low barrier of entry into a field where, if you put in the work, you can make a decent living.

CurrentThing

In the world over, countries that are much more innovative than Kenyans do not have any such regulations - people literally start companies from their dorm rooms, and this is good for the economy in general.

In Kenya, we're going the way of gate keeping who can participate. And the definition of a practitioner is very vague, it might even include a cyber attendant.

Any profession that has public interest should have some form of regulation, e.g why do you insist that your surgeon/pilot be qualified. The shape and form of which should be agreed by the professionals and the regulator.
Not all IT work has public interest lakini kuna zingine e.g guy incharge of system / data security, guys who do systems audits, very soon guys who will over see AI, those guys should subscribe to a code of ethics and regulator have a whitelist of members.
Sijui much about this bill, but lots of arguements naona zinasema throw it out wholesome which I disagree with

Any profession that has public interest should have some form of regulation, e.g why do you insist that your surgeon/pilot be qualified. The shape and form of which should be agreed by the professionals and the regulator.
Not all IT work has public interest lakini kuna zingine e.g guy incharge of system / data security, guys who do systems audits, very soon guys who will over see AI, those guys should subscribe to a code of ethics and regulator have a whitelist of members.
Sijui much about this bill, but lots of arguements naona zinasema throw it out wholesome which I disagree with
You're the first one to receive a downvote from me. Clap your ass buttocks.
Tell me, sire, what problem the bill is trying to solve

You're the first one to receive a downvote from me. Clap your ass buttocks.
Tell me, sire, what problem the bill is trying to solve
You should interogate your fascination with mens butts
I have already said hapo juu, haven't read it, won't read it, but I can't agree with the masses who want zero regulation for zero regulations sake

You should imterogate your fascination with mens butts
I have already said hapo juu, haven't read it, won't read it, but I can't agree with the masses who want zero regulation for zero regulations sake
So for what sake do you want rnon-zero requlations?
Clap your ass buttocks again.