Ugenya: Police Thwart Attempts To Torch MP Ochieng’s Home As CDF Offices Vandalized

Quick action by the police on Saturday evening saved Ugenya legislator David Ochieng’s home from suspected arsonists.

The arsonists wanted to set it ablaze in protest over his decision to ditch the Azimio La Umoja coalition for the William Ruto-led Kenya Kwanza alliance.

Earlier in the day, the residents vented their anger on the Ugenya Constituency Development Fund offices in Sega town, which they vandalised.

According to the villagers, a contingent of police officers from Kanyumba Police Post in East Ugenya rushed to the MP’s home, a few metres from Komoro Primary School as a group of angry youth approached, carrying crude weapons.

The group was shouting that the legislator had let them down by his decision to join Kenya Kwanza.

Siaya County Police Commander, Michael Muchiri confirmed the incidents, saying investigations have been launched.

“Ugenya sub-County police commander Benard Wamugunda is dealing with the issues,” said Muchiri, confirming that the CDF offices had also been damaged.

Meanwhile, more protests were reported in Sega town yesterday.

Irate residents carrying twigs and placards called on Ochieng to relinquish his seat and seek a fresh mandate on a Kenya kwanza alliance ticket “if he thinks he was popular on the ground.”

They said that Ugenya constituency was an Orange Democratic Movement zone, fully behind former Prime Minister Raila Odinga.

img_2794.jpg

This being a hallmark of the usual political intolerance, that accompanies Raila in Luo Nyanza, will be swept under the rug/rationalized by the people+ new converts, who have been excusing his excesses since the break up from Ford-kenya in the 90's.

Lakini hii defection is more like showing wafuasi the middle finger. He was elected because he was in ODM.

How does my pointing out that he showed his voters the middle finger imply that I support their violent reaction?
He wasn't elected on an ODM ticket as you are insinuating, and his party made the decision to join Kenya Kwanza, that's not his personal choice, so him showing the electorate a middle finger is neither here nor there. If he had been an independent like the Karauri guy, he would have been been showing the finger as you put it.. we have peaceful ways of recalling an MP and what they did is not and should be condemned by all Kenyans of good will.

Truth be said, huu ujinga wa Njaruo huudhi sana. Unapigia Raila kura kama nilivyofanya halafu hizi nugu zinaanza hii ujinga....unarudi default settings mara hiyo hiyo...

The keyword here is deception. The voters understood that his party was friendly to ODM. There was some understanding that he would work with ODM. Otherwise, he wouldn't have been elected. Not in Ugenya.

Unasema recall? That law is made by the pigs and for the pigs. They have to wait for 24 months before they can initiate a recall. He knows he is well protected by the law.

I don't condone violence in this or any other case. Lakini you can understand their frustration. Siyo?

Truth be said, huu ujinga wa Njaruo huudhi sana. Unapigia Raila kura kama nilivyofanya halafu hizi nugu zinaanza hii ujinga....unarudi default settings mara hiyo hiyo...
Political maturity hasn't been achieved in that region, it's either you support their demigod or you support him, the Oswago fellow, the once CEO of IEBC 2013-2016, was only able to visit his rural home after the handshake in 2018, you can imagine your relatives, neighbors and clansmen, denying you from visiting your house for several years due to politics.

The keyword here is deception. The voters understood that his party was friendly to ODM. There was some understanding that he would work with ODM. Otherwise, he wouldn't have been elected. Not in Ugenya.

Unasema recall? That law is made by the pigs and for the pigs. They have to wait for 24 months before they can initiate a recall. He knows he is well protected by the law.

I don't condone violence in this or any other case. Lakini you can understand their frustration. Siyo?
I understand that part of Kenya and their passion quite well, they being my in-laws, my Kalausi Bro in law once had his vehicle stoned, for his Facebook post and media utterances.